Road Racing News

IRRC Hengelo Wrap Up

Full wrap up of the opening round of the 2016 International Road Racing Championship, at Hengelo, in the Netherlands.

IRRC Supersport Race 1:

Reigning IRRC supersport champion Marek Cerveny got his title defence, off to the perfect start, with victory in the opening IRRC supersport encounter at Hengelo.

The nearest challenger to Marek was Joey Den Besten in second place, 9.676 seconds behind the Intermoto backed ZX6R Kawasaki.

Laurent Hoffmann completed the podium finishers, as Thomas Walther fourth and Pierre Yves Bian fifth, both produced impressive performances.

Thomas Wendel was sixth, Michael Hofmann seventh, Arnaud Seydoux eighth, Stefan Wauter ninth, Sebastian Frotscher finalised the top ten.

Race Results:

1 Marek Cerveny
2 Joey Den Besten
3 Laurent Hoffmann
4 Thomas Walther
5 Pierre Yves Bian
6 Thomas Wendel
7 Michael Hofmann
8 Arnaud Seydoux
9 Stefan Wauter
10 Sebastian Frotscher

IRRC Superbike Race 1:

Vincent Lonbois was the dominant force in the opening IRRC superbike race of the year. Piloting Herpigny Motors backed S1000RR BMW, he showcased his potential today of been a contender for championship victory.

Reigning champion and team mate to Vincent, Sebastien Le Grelle finished fourth, as four time IRRC champion Didier Grams was third behind Peter Schalken.

Jochem Van Den Hoek set to soon make his TT Races debut, finished an excellent fifth in front of Johan Fredriks.

The top ten was rounded out by Thomas Bergham, Thomas Wendel, Matti Seidel and 2012 newcomers A Manx Grand Prix winner Kamil Holan.

Race Results:

1 Vincent Lonbois
2 Peter Schalken
3 Didier Grams
4 Sebastien Le Grelle
5 Jochem Van Den Hoek
6 Johan Fredriks
7 Thomas Berghammer
8 Thomas Wendel
9 Matti Seidel
10 Kamil Holan

IRRC Supersport Race 2:

Marek Cerveny made it back to back IRRC supersport victories at Hengelo, following another world class display on the Intermoto backed ZX6R Kawasaki.

Marek, set to soon make his North West 200 debut, has established himself in recent years, as one of the Czech Republic’s leading pure road racers.

As in the opening race, Joey Den Besten lead the challenge to Marek, finishing again second, as the 2014 IRRC supersport champion, enjoyed a productive start to his championship campaign.

Thomas Walther finished a great third, Laurent Hoffmann was fourth, Kevin De Frenne was fifth, France’s Pierre Yves Bian concluded the top six finishers.

Race Results:

1 Marek Cerveny
2 Joey Den Besten
3 Thomas Walther
4 Laurent Hoffmann
5 Kevin De Frenne
6 Pierre Yves Bian

IRRC Superbike Race 2:

Vincent Lonbois was in dominant form again, in the second IRRC superbike encounter, at Hengelo, as he made it back to back superbike victories, at the iconic road race circuit, in the Netherlands.

Team mate Sebastien Le Grelle, was second, as he made a solid start, to his IRRC title defence.


Photo by Robby Repsol

Fellow S1000RR BMW mounted rider, four time IRRC champion Didier Grams, was third.

Peter Schalken sealed fourth place finish, Performance Racing’s Jochem Van Den Hoek, again impressed, in sealing another top five placing.

Johan Fredriks close on many occasions to becoming IRRC superbike champion was sixth, the top seven was finalised by Kamil Holan and the BMW Motorrad Czech Republic backed S1000RR BMW.

Race Results:

1 Vincent Lonbois
2 Sebastien Le Grelle
3 Didier Grams
4 Peter Schalken
5 Jochem Van Den Hoek
6 Johan Fredriks
7 Kamil Holan
8 Petr Biciste
9 Christian Wesinger
10 David Jean Luc

Words by Stevie Rial

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.