IRRC Hengelo: Series Debutant Lagrive Secures Back To Back Supersport Triumphs

IRRC Hengelo: Series Debutant Lagrive Secures Back To Back Supersport Triumphs

Ex World Supersport, current World Endurance Championship competitor Matthieu Lagrive, enjoyed a dream culmination to his maiden weekend of IRRC action at Hengelo, as the experienced Frenchman secured back to back Supersport victories.

Looking at one with the Wepol Racing Yamaha, the high profile IRRC debutant excelled around the fast flowing roads of the Varsselring, as he showcased his ability, although early in the infancy stages of his roads career, as one of a select group of racers, who can front run on purpose built circuits, and also on closed roads courses.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Nearest challenger to Lagrive, who holds an early 10 point plus championship lead, in both races, was former champion Laurent Hoffmann, who produced a series of top class performances on the Delaur Road Racing Belgium Kawasaki.

Meeting wildcards Kevin Van Leuven and Thijs Peeters, respectively wrapped up the final spots on the rostrum, in the nine lap races, whilst 2017 series runner up Thomas Walther, kicked off his race season with a brace of fourth place finishes.

Fellow anticipated championship front runner, Pierre Yves Bian had what can only be described as an ultra challenging, day at Hengelo.

In contention throughout for Supersport race 1 honours, towards the sharp end of the race, he was involved in an incident which saw him part company with his YZF R6 Yamaha. Although remounting, the popular next gen French racer could only go onto manage a 12th place.

The next middleweight class encounter, provided more bad luck for Pierre, who alongside the likes of Juha Kallio, Luca Gottardi and Kevin Van Leuven, was a non finisher.

Race results, from both of today’s IRRC Supersport encounters at Hengelo, are as follows:

Race 1:

1 Matthieu Lagrive
2 Laurent Hoffmann
3 Kevin Van Leuven
4 Thomas Walther
5 Christian Schmitz
6 Thijs Peeters
7 Jonathan Goetschy
8 Jochen Rotter
9 Lukas Maurer
10 Juha Kallio
11 John Pilloud
12 Pierre Yves Bian
13 Kamil Holan
14 Sebastian Frotscher
15 John Ross Billega
16 Ijla Caljouw
17 Miroslav Sloboda
18 Kai Zentner
19 Luca Gottardi
20 Anssi Koski
21 Herve Somson
22 Erwan Bannwart
23 Markus Witte
24 Benjamin Beume
25 Quentin Limousin
26 Erik Plucker
27 Krystian Paluch
28 Alexandre Bigot
29 Nicolas Robert
30 Rens Vink

Race 2:

1 Matthieu Lagrive
2 Laurent Hoffmann
3 Thijs Peeters
4 Thomas Walther
5 Lukas Maurer
6 Jonathan Goetschy
7 Jochen Rotter
8 John Pilloud
9 Ilja Caljouw
10 Miroslav Sloboda
11 Kai Zentner
12 Anssi Koski
13 John Ross Billega
14 Markus Witte
15 Benjamin Beume
16 Joeri Mertens
17 Quentin Limousin
18 Krystian Paluch
19 Alexandre Bigot
20 Nicolas Robert
21 Rens Vink

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles