IRRC Hengelo: Peeters Triumphs, Maurer Gains 25 Championship Points

IRRC Hengelo: Peeters Triumphs, Maurer Gains 25 Championship Points

Lightning was looming near Hengelo as the second, nine-lap IRRC Superbike encounter commenced.

Pole sitter Lukas Maurer was quickly overtaken by meeting wildcard Thijs Peeters, who post lap one’s finalisation had opened an advantage of almost 1.29 seconds.

Peeters wouldn’t look back from here, showcasing metronomic pace on route to sealing race spoils by the final victorious margin of 7.64 seconds over Maurer.

With race victor Peeters, ineligible to score series points, the Swiss racer took the full 25 Championship points.

Collecting behind Maurer twenty, sixteen Championship points respectively were third, fourth place finishers, Varsselring lap record holder Vincent Lonbois and former Supersport Champion Joey Den Besten.

Sweden’s Markus Karlsson wasn’t far behind Den Besten in securing fifth whilst 45 times IRRC race winner Didier Grams had to settle for sixth.

Patrick Hoff quietly impressed finishing seventh, same notion applied to eighth place finisher MTP Racing’s Johannes Schwimmbeck.

Occupying positions P9 and P10 were Belgian roads favourite Laurent Hoffmann and Syntainics Racing by Penz 13 supported Luca Gottardi.

In terms of placings eleventh to fifteenth, they went to the following:

Marcel Elsner (11th), Nico Muller (12th), Pontus Roestlinger (13th), Never Be Clever Racing’s Forest Dunn (14th), Wally Jacobs (15th).

IRRC Hengelo – Superbike Race 2 Result:

1st – Thijs Peeters
2nd – Lukas Maurer
3rd – Vincent Lonbois
4th – Joey Den Besten
5th – Markus Karlsson
6th – Didier Grams
7th – Patrick Hoff
8th – Johannes Schwimmbeck
9th – Laurent Hoffmann
10th – Luca Gottardi

11th – Marcel Elsner
12th – Nico Muller
13th – Pontus Roestlinger
14th – Forest Dunn
15th – Wally Jacobs
16th – Marcel Zuurbier
17th – Florian Astner
18th – Jaroslaw Szczesny
19th – Rhys Hardisty
20th – Steven Bellavoine

21st – Reinhard Strack
22nd – Dirk Walter
23rd – Emil Krchnavy
24th – Paul Manx
25th – Rob Van Eijs
26th – Christoph Kreller
27th – Patrick Van Der Eecken
28th – Mike Ceuppens

Photo credit: Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles