Harrison Overcomes Pit Lane Speeding Penalty To Win Mylchreests Group Junior Manx Grand Prix

Harrison Overcomes Pit Lane Speeding Penalty To Win Mylchreests Group Junior Manx Grand Prix

Four hours behind schedule, the eagerly anticipated Mylchreests Group Junior Manx Grand Prix got underway at 12:15 PM, with Wakefield’s Steven Procter first down the illustrious Glencrutchery Road.

Lap 1:

Early pace setter at Glen Helen on lap 1 was practice week pace setter James Hind, who held a 2.5 seconds lead over Chris Preston Racing’s Nathan Harrison.

By Ballaugh Bridge, Hind’s advantage over Harrison extended to plus 7 seconds. The Peoples Bike Team’s Stephen Parsons occupied third but was only 0.7 ahead of Skerries Andy Farrell as Stephen Smith and VRS Racing’s rounded out the top six.

Next timing point at Ramsey Hairpin saw BTS/NLC Components supported Hind extend his lead further to 9.572 seconds, whilst the battle for third continued to led by reigning Senior class runner-up Parsons.

Photo by Mark Corlett

It was all change though for 3rd at the Bungalow, as Liverpool’s Smith slotted into third place as prior position holder dropped back to fifth.

Out front 19 year old Hind continued to set a rapid, impressive pace which culminated at the end of lap 1 with a sensational new Junior Manx GP lap record of 121.77 mph.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

CBR 600RR Honda mounted Harrison remained lead chaser to Hind but was now 11.259 seconds behind Hind, whilst the tight, close fought battle for third was just headed by Slipps Racing’s Smith, who was only 0.475 in front of seasoned Manx GP front runner Farrell.

Lap 2:

Lap two began with drama and some as race leader, new Junior MGP lap record holder Hind retired at Greeba Bridge.

This allowed lap 1 lead pursuer Harrison to jump into the race lead, holding a now 8.388 second lead over GSX-R 600 Suzuki mounted Smith.

By Ramsey Hairpin Smith had trimmed Harrison’s lead down to just 6.639 seconds and was looking on course to join Harrison as a member of the prestigious ‘Tommy Club’.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

The gap between Harrison and Smith extended at the Bungalow to 7.297 seconds, which then grew marginally at Cronk Ny Mona to almost the eight seconds mark.

At the end of lap 2 Harrison had a 7.869 seconds lead over Smith but soon more drama was to arise, as Harrison incurred a 30 second pit lane speeding penalty.

Respective third, fourth, fifth and sixth place holders at the end of lap 2 were Farrell, Parsons, Vicars and Kettering’s Andrew Fisher.

Lap 3:

In spite of his pit lane speeding penalty, next gen Manx roads star Harrison began the third and final lap in determined mode, placing just over four seconds behind new race leader Smith at Glen Helen.

By Ramsey Hairpin, Smith’s race lead was down to only 2.77 seconds! It was most definitely race on for the battle to become 2019 Junior Manx GP Champion.

Onto the Bungalow and Harrison was back into race lead but by only 0.302 of a second. Third placed Farrell additionally wasn’t out of contention for race spoils, just over six seconds behind previous race pace setter Smith.

Come the completion of a quite engrossing, captivating Junior race, it was Harrison in spite of a 30 second penalty who claimed the victory spoils by 3.886 seconds over gallant runner-up Smith.

Reflecting post race on his momentous achievement, 21 years old Harrison candidly stated:

“Doesn’t feel real to be honest. Made it difficult for myself gaining a pit lane penalty, I like making things difficult for myself in life I think! Like you say more than made up to be honest.”

Two times Super Twins Manx GP winner Farrell rounded out the podium finishers, whilst positions fourth, fifth and sixth were acquired by The Peoples Bike Team’s Parsons, Graham Procter backed Fisher and number 1 plate holder Procter.

VRS Racing’s Vicars, Italian star Francesco Curinga, Cramlington’s David McConnachy, Bourne’s Arnie Shelton rounded out the top ten finishers.

Others to bank very creditable results included Hawick’s Chris Cook (11th), Newcomers A race winner Pierre Yves Bian (12th), Ben Rea (13th), Michael Rees (14th), Gaz Evans (15th), Chris Sarbora (17th), Rad Hughes (19th) and Louis O’Regan (21st).

Mylchreests Junior Manx Grand Prix race result, is as follows:

1 Nathan Harrison
2 Stephen Smith
3 Andy Farrell
4 Stephen Parsons
5 Andrew Fisher
6 Steven Procter
7 Brad Vicars
8 Francesco Curinga
9 David McConnachy
10 Arnie Shelton
11 Chris Cook
12 Pierre Yves Bian
13 Ben Rea
14 Michael Rees
15 Gaz Evans
16 Adrian Hartog
17 Chris Sarbora
18 Steven Horne
19 Rad Hughes
20 Teddy Bresson
21 Louis O’Regan
22 Lee Hembury
23 David Murphy
24 Dave Quine
25 Mike Mace
26 Dennis Booth
27 Rodger Wibberley
28 Shaun Evans
29 Alan Johnston
30 Stuart McCann
31 Andrew Windsor
32 Richard Stubbs
33 Jim Barnett
34 Jack Fowler
35 Lewis Bramwell
36 Tommy Henry
37 Jordan McFerran
38 Leon Murphy
39 Ben Shuttlewood
40 Kevin Barsby
41 James Reveley
42 Richard Vuillermet
43 Andreas Psychogyios
44 Ross Orchard
45 Nick Southerwood
46 Sebastian Witt
47 Paul Battersby
48 Stu Hall
49 Iain Hill
50 Daniel Fernandez
51 Ben Plant
52 Mike Minns
53 Ramon Basomba
54 Victor Ortega
55 Paul Marley
56 Bertus Folkertsma
57 Quentin Limousin
58 Christian Slater
59 Robert Nelson
60 Danila Krasniuk

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles