FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Saturday Races Stats, Facts Collection

FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Saturday Races Stats, Facts Collection

Collection of interesting stats, facts to emerge after race day at the FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix which included of course Peter Hickman setting a new record for victories at an Ulster GP meeting.

Additionally matching Philip McCallen’s record of five event wins in a day, Smiths Racing’s Hickman also elevated his tally of Dundrod course affiliated race victories to 15.

13 of his 15 Dundrod course triumphs have been Ulster GP ones including the seven banked from this week’s competitive action.

This takes Hickman in front of the likes of Guy Martin, Brian Reid, Ian Hutchinson and Ryan Farquhar plus equal with Bruce Anstey on the all time Ulster GP winners list.

Nearest pursuers in the MMB Surfacing, Around A Pound Superbike races Dean Harrison and Conor Cummins, scooped between them this week nine podium finishes.

Others to secure multiple rostrum finishes were Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston, IRRC Superbike series leader Davey Todd, Team ILR Paton mounted Joe Loughlin and Super Twins Race 2 victor Christian Elkin.

In total 14 racers secured at this year’s FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix, podium finishes including PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward, who’s latest UGP tenure yielded no less than six top five finishes.

Overall just 17 racers completed the Skegness Raceway Supersport race, whilst only 22 racers completed the seven lap feature MMB Surfacing Superbike race.

Speed Trap Timings wise, it was that man again Peter Hickman who headed the Flying Kilo speed times in the Daly’s Hyundai Superstock race, registering a best speed despite the damp conditions of 189.1 mph.

Hickman placed only sixth on the Centra Whitemountain Supersport speeds time sheet which was topped by lead class chaser, joint top speed holder from the MMB Surfacing Superbike race Lee Johnston (171.8 mph).

All four Suzuki mounted competitors finished the Maxwell Freight Services Super Twins race, Stephen McKnight (14th), Sandy Berwick (18th), John Byrne (19th) and Patch Racing’s Davy Graham (21st).

Not surprisingly the bulk of the finishers from the second Twins class encounter were Kawasaki mounted with 14 of the first 20 finishers piloting Kawasaki’s.

Only one racer piloting Yamaha machinery finished the feature MMB Surfacing Superbike race, George ‘Dod’ Spence who banked a very respectable 21st place finish.

Milenco by Padgetts finished lead Honda team, thanks to squad members Conor Cummins, Davey Todd in all four stroke races excluding the Super Twin races.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles