Fifth NW200 Success For Johnston After Supersport Cracker

Fifth NW200 Success For Johnston After Supersport Cracker

Next race on the horizon at the FonaCAB & Nicholl Oils North West 200, post Richard Cooper’s record-breaking opening Super Twins race triumph, was the Tides Restaurant Supersport race.

Fastest off the line was pole-sitter Alastair Seeley but Milenco by Padgetts Davey Todd, runner-up in Thursday’s soon hit the front at York-Hairpin.

Slipstreaming, slipstreaming a plenty followed across lap one as a who’s who of top 600cc International roads pilots battled it out.

As lap one ended, pre-race favourite for many Lee Johnston had grabbed the lead off Todd, holding a narrow 0.093 advantage over the Brotton rider.

2.758 behind Johnston, Todd was 19 times TT winner Michael Dunlop, closely followed by 24 times NW200 winner Seeley.

Early during lap two, Todd regained the lead then Johnston re-took the lead, then Todd re-took the lead!

By Church, Black Hill there was still nothing in it between the Honda, Yamaha mounted pilots.

As lap two concluded, Todd headed Johnston by just under 0.2 of a second, Dunlop maintained third and had set the fastest lap of the race.

Onto mid-race distance and whilst Johnston, Todd continued to duke it out notable early retirements had included IFS Global Logistics supported Seeley and McAdoo Kawasaki’s Adam McLean.

Post lap three’s finalisation, Johnston and Todd were separated by just 0.252 with fastest man on track Dunlop, just below two seconds in arrears.

Drama was afoot on lap four as Todd ran straight on at Mathers Chicane, allowing Johnston to open a moderate advantage.

Todd’s misfortune also allowed Supersport TT lap record holder Dunlop to close-up.

James Hillier high-sided out of contention at York on lap five whilst Todd by the Magic Roundabout had reeled in Johnston, who was almost 1.5 seconds clear at the end of lap four.

Another classic last-lap fight for victory was in prospect.

Ultimately a determined Johnston, via a last dash of speed through Black Hill, Juniper had the edge on Todd on the sixth and final lap.

At the line only 0.079 covered new five times NW200 winner Johnston and new Supersport lap record holder Todd.

Dunlop completed the podium finishers whilst DAO Racing’s Dean Harrison, Jamie Coward, Joe Loughlin finalised the top six.

Positions seventh to tenth were occupied by Twins rostrum finisher Paul Jordan, Jeremy McWilliams, Michael Sweeney and Pierre Yves Bian.

Tides Restaurant Supersport race result, reads as follows:

1st – Lee Johnston
2nd – Davey Todd
3rd – Michael Dunlop
4th – Dean Harrison
5th – Jamie Coward
6th – Joe Loughlin
7th – Paul Jordan
8th – Jeremy McWilliams
9th – Michael Sweeney
10th – Pierre Yves Bian
11th – Craig Neve
12th – Mark Purslow
13th – Mike Norbury
14th – Gary McCoy
15th – Jorn Hamberg

16th – Xavier Denis
17th – Julian Trummer
18th – James Chawke
19th – Ryan Maher
20th – Darryl Tweed
21st – Phil Stewart
22nd – Mark Conlin
23rd – Raul Torras Martinez
24th – Yann Galli
25th – Chris Sarbora
26th – Rad Hughes
27th – Paul Cranston
28th – Ramon Basomba
29th – Stephen Degnan

Photo credit: Tommy Vennard

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles