Cooper Joins NW200 Winners Circle After Record Breaking Super Twins Display

Cooper Joins NW200 Winners Circle After Record Breaking Super Twins Display

Moved over from Thursday evening’s racing itinerary to today’s race schedule, the Milltown Service Station Super Twins race unlocked competition proceedings for one of the most anticipated, eagerly awaited North West 200 race days,’ of modern times.

A packed Grandstand was witness to an ultra-impressive start from pole sitter Richard Cooper, who led on the run to York- Hairpin.

As the opening lap stint went on, Cooper aboard the Ryan Farquhar prepared JMcC Roofing Kawasaki, sped away from the chasing pack, which was headed by Pierre Yves Bian.

Towards lap ones’ conclusion, Cooper pulled further away and by the lap’s completion was almost five seconds ahead of new second place holder Lee Johnston.

Early race retirements included the McAdoo Kawasaki pairing of Adam McLean and Michael Dunlop.

Lap number two saw Cooper continue to dominate out front, moving eight seconds ahead of IRRC Supersport Champion Yves Bian.

PreZ Racing’s Paul Jordan was up to third as Ashcourt Racing’s Johnston dropped back to fourth.

Post setting a new outright Twins lap record of 4 minutes 49.407 seconds, race leader Cooper dropped his pace a touch on lap three but his advantage out front was ever-expanding.

The battle for second was now headed by Jordan, with Yves Bian holding third. Three times NW200 winner Jeremy McWilliams climbed to fourth just ahead of KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan’s Jamie Coward.

Whilst Cooper continued to ease towards race honours, all eyes were on who could claim second on the fourth and final lap.

The answer was Yves Bian, the first French racer in the 21st Century to acquire a NW200 rostrum finish.

8.413 in arrears to first time International road race winner, 700cc Kawasaki mounted Cooper, Yves Bian finished only 0.285 in front of fellow first-time NW200 podium finisher Jordan.

Four times NW200 winner Johnston placed fourth, only 0.339 ahead of McWilliams as Hebden Bridge’s Coward finalised the top six.

Duke Road Race Rankings Champion Michael Sweeney as Christian Elkin, Triangle course legend Michael Rutter, world’s fastest road racer Peter Hickman wrapped up the first ten finishers.


A statement issued recently by North West 200 Organisers, reads as follows:

“The results of both the Milltown Service Station and JM Paterson Super Twin races have been amended following the exclusion of Richard Cooper’s JMC Roofing Kawasaki because of a modification to the machine’s frame which is deemed to be against the rules by the stewards of the meeting.

They have excluded the machine from the results which means Richard Cooper is now disqualified as the winner of both races.”

Former classified race winner Cooper, stated via Twitter:

“I’ve done everything that was asked of me, both my teams have given the best bikes possible however due to a protest buy another so called racer I’ve now been excluded from both Super Twin races. To the team/person who felt they needed to do this congratulations.”

Milltown Service Station Super Twins race result, reads as follows:

1st – Pierre Yves Bian
2nd – Paul Jordan
3rd – Lee Johnston
4th – Jeremy McWilliams
5th – Jamie Coward
6th – Michael Sweeney
7th – Christian Elkin
8th – Michael Rutter
9th – Peter Hickman
10th – Dominic Herbertson
11th – Andrea Majola
12th – Gary McCoy
13th – Matt Rees
14th – Brian McCormack

15th – Darren James
16th – Barry Graham
17th – Ryan Gibson
18th – Maria Costello MBE
19th – Kris Duncan
20th – Anthony Redmond
21st – Gareth Arnold
22nd – Mark Johnson
23rd – Dave Madsen Mygdal
24th – Ryan Whitehall
25th – Paul Cranston
26th – Jack Petrie
27th – RJ Woolsey

Photo credit: Rod Neill

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles