Faugheen 50 Road Races – World Class Roads Quality At Faugheen

Faugheen 50 Road Races – World Class Roads Quality At Faugheen

World class roads action a plenty was seen at the 2016 Faugheen 50 Road Races.

Stand out performances included Derek Sheils increasing his Irish road race superbike championship lead, with victory in the open race on the Cookstown BE Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki.

Derek McGee, Noel Williamson Racing S1000RR BMW finished second as Brian McCormack completed the top three finishers.

An enthralling super twins tussle saw Michael Sweeney, KHR Racing ER6 Kawasaki, record race victory. Victorious by in excess of 1.2 seconds the two time junior Manx Grand Prix winner, held off determined challenges from Derek Sheils and B&W Racing’s Paul Jordan.


Photo by Baylon McCaughey

As always the supersport 600’s would provide a gripping race, albeit the supersport encounter at Faugheen would prove a dominant one for Derek McGee.

The Noel Doyne backed YZF R6 Yamaha and Derek where in formidable form, as the former Irish road race supersport champion, underlined again his proven prowess in the hugely competitive category.

Finalising the supersport top three finishers where Derek Sheils, Cookstown BE Racing CBR 600 Honda and Michael Sweeney on the Tracblast backed YZF R6 Yamaha.

Additional race winners from the 13 races yesterday at Faugheen included Paul Jordan (125/Moto 3), Neil Kernohan (250/400), John Horgan (Senior Support), Philip Crosbie (Junior Support), Robert McCrum (Classic 250/1000) and Sean Leonard (Classic 250/350).

Faugheen 50 Road Races – Full Results, As Follows:

Senior Support Race Results:

1 John Horgan
2 Oisin Watson
3 Sean Connolly
4 Stephen Casey
5 Sam Johnson
6 Darragh Trappe
7 James Chawke
8 David Howard
9 Rodney Little
10 Martin Currams

Open Championship Race Results:

1 Derek Sheils
2 Derek McGee
3 Brian McCormack
4 Michael Sweeney
5 Paul Jordan
6 John Horgan
7 Graham Kennedy
8 Andy Farrell
9 James Kelly
10 Thomas Maxwell

Classic 250/1000 Championship Race Results:

1 Robert McCrum
2 Richard Ford
3 Ed Manly
4 Gary Jamison
5 Billy Lyle
6 Freddie Stewart
7 Trevor Rufus
8 Sean Leonard
9 John Scott
10 Ian Thompson

Supersport Race Results:

1 Derek McGee
2 Derek Sheils
3 Michael Sweeney
4 Paul Jordan
5 Michal Dokoupil
6 Brian McCormack
7 Andy Farrell
8 James Kelly
9 Graham Kennedy
10 John Walsh

125/Moto 3 Race Results:

1 Paul Jordan
2 Adam McLean
3 Nigel Moore
4 Callum Laidlaw

250/400 Race Results:

1 Neil Kernohan
2 Michal Dokoupil
3 Darryl Tweed
4 David Howard
5 Brendan Merrigan
6 Callum Laidlaw
7 Andy Mcallister
8 Brian Loughlin
9 Gerard Cummins

Classic 250/350 Championship Race Results:

1 Sean Leonard
2 Sam Kinkead
3 Philip Shaw
4 Jonathan Doran
5 Brian Mateer
6 Pat Murray
7 Ian Thompson (R)
8 Gearoid Hoare
9 Ian Thompson
10 Sean Henry

Super Twins Race Results:

1 Michael Sweeney
2 Derek Sheils
3 Paul Jordan
4 Michal Dokoupil
5 Andy Farrell
6 Adam McLean
7 Philip Crosbie
8 Paul O’Rourke
9 Jordan McFerran
10 Veronika Hankocyova

Junior Support Race Results:

1 Philip Crosbie
2 James Chawke
3 Paul O’Rourke
4 Jordan McFerran
5 Andy Mcallister
6 John Byrne
7 Thomas Whitmore
8 Brian Loughlin
9 Cathal Phelan
10 Veronika Hankocyova

Super Twin Non Championship Race Results:

1 David Howard
2 Cathal Phelan
3 Thomas Whitmore
4 Tommy Heaphy
5 Kevin Baker
6 Raymond O’Neill
7 Denis Lynch
8 Colin Bowles
9 Thomas Mcevoy
10 Darren O’Rourke

Non Qualifiers Race Results:

1 Philip Crosbie
2 Cathal Phelan
3 John Byrne
4 Andy Mcallister
5 David Howard
6 Kevin Baker
7 Tommy Heaphy
8 Brian Loughlin
9 Robert Cairns
10 Martin Currams

Senior Support Non Championship Race Results:

1 John Horgan
2 Oisin Watson
3 Stephen Casey
4 Raymond Casey
5 David Howard
6 Darragh Trappe
7 Rodney Little
8 Dario Cecconi
9 John Cahill
10 John O’Donovan

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *