Cornmarket Motorbike Awards Wrap Up

Cornmarket Motorbike Awards Wrap Up

Road racing stars a plenty wrapped up multiple awards, at the 2017 Cornmarket motorbike awards ceremony in Belfast.

The race of the year award, went the way of the second Superbike race, at the MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix, which featured a high quality battle for victory between Ian Hutchinson, Bruce Anstey and Michael Dunlop.


2016 Irish road race Superbike champion Derek Sheils was named national road racer of the year, whilst Derek’s Cookstown BE Racing Team Manager John Burrows was an extremely worthy recipient of Greenlight Television’s special recognition accolade.

For many and in my opinion as well Cookstown BE Racing, should have won the team of the year award, which ultimately went the way of Tyco BMW.

Ian Hutchinson scooped the IFS International road racer of the year title, which like the team award, divided opinions online as to whether the honour went to the right recipient.

13 times TT winner Michael Dunlop finished runner up in the feature award of the evening, the Cornmarket Irish Motorcyclist of The Year.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *