Classic TT Preview – Part 3 – Lightweight Race

Classic TT Preview – Part 3 – Lightweight Race

Incorporated into the Classic TT schedule in 2016, this year’s Lightweight two stroke field embarking upon the Isle of Man, features no less than six TT winners.

Having dominated last years inaugural Lightweight Classic TT, Bruce Anstey starts for many a warm favourite for race victory.

Photo by Jim Gibson

A recent winner aboard the Padgetts RS 250 Honda in the Dundrod 150 250/400 race, the Flying Kiwi time and time again proves why he is regarded as one of pure road racing’s all time greats.

13 times a winner on the Mountain Course, it’s going to take a very special performance to stop him making it back to back Lightweight Classic victories.

Amongst those quietly confident of running him close include ten times TT winner, Ian Lougher.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Linking up again with Laylaw Racing, the Welshman has the proven two stroke credentials to be in the mix for race honours, same applies to 2006 British 125 GP champion Dan Cooper.

The former TT Privateers champion is joined this year at Turner Racing, by the highest profile addition to the race entry, 15 times TT winner Michael Dunlop.

Combined they are certain to give Roger Turner’s team an excellent chance of podium finishes.

John Chapman Racing also have an all star line up, which consists of twice Lightweight TT champion Ivan Lintin and the new second fastest rider in Ulster GP history, Manxman Dan Kneen.

Additional high profile rider/team combinations include Michael Rutter/Red Fox Grinta Racing, Shaun Anderson/Clever Brown Racing and Chris Swallow competing for the legendary Sports Motorcycles Ducati outfit.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Podium finisher last year, Goole’s Phil Harvey is more than capable of sealing another rostrum finish, don’t discount as well fellow 250 stalwart Paul Owen, Rhys Hardisty, 2016 Newcomers B Manx GP winner Gary Vines and rising roads star Adam McLean.

Further depth to the entry is provided by the likes of Nigel Moore, Dave Hewson, Chris Barratt, Ben Rea, Tom Snow, Dan Hegarty, Manx TT legend Dan Sayle, 2014 Duke Road Race Rankings champion James Cowton and Chris Moore.

There’s also continental European representation courtesy of France’s Timothee Monot and Eric Lenser, plus Denmark’s Carsten Svendsen on his own teams Skulptur Stoberiet backed Honda.

In total 66 riders are entered for the Dunlop Lightweight Classic TT, which is extremely encouraging news for two stroke fans and for aficionados of the iconic machines.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles