Circuit Paalgraven, Old School Racing With A Friendly Atmosphere

Circuit Paalgraven, Old School Racing With A Friendly Atmosphere

Since joining the pure roads scene in 2004, the Oss based Circuit Paalgraven has proven a great breeding ground for many of the Netherlands foremost racing talents.

This includes current World Superbike Championship front runner Michael Van Der Mark, who in 2009 at Circuit Paalgraven took victory in the sole 125 race by plus 27 seconds.

Others to make their mark have included World Supersport points finisher Rob Hartog, Nigel Walraven, Arie Vos, Danny De Boer and Raymond Schouten.

From 2014 through to 2016, local competitors were joined at Oss by the IRRC Supersport/Superbike fraternity.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Top names to add success around the 3.48 kilometres long Paalgraven Circuit included 2015, 2016 IRRC Superbike Champions Sebastien Le Grelle & Vincent Lonbois, Didier Grams, Marek Cerveny and fellow twice IRRC Supersport Champion Joey Den Besten.

UK racers wise, names more than worth mentioning include Dutch Superbike race winner in 2009, future World Supersport race winner, Moto 2 competitor Gino Rea and former Moto GP exponent Chris Burns, the third quickest Paalgraven Circuit exponent of the 2010’s.

Since 2016, IRRC affiliated action hasn’t taken place at Paalgraven and it remains to be seen as to whether top level roads action will return in the near future.

One things for sure though it’s already clinched it’s place in the Netherlands extremely rich pure road racing history.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles