Armoy Preview Part 3: 250/400/125/Moto 3/Support/Yesteryear Classes

Armoy Preview Part 3: 250/400/125/Moto 3/Support/Yesteryear Classes

There’s a strong field of 250cc, 400cc mounted competitors that features esteemed exponents including multi Ulster Grand Prix winner Neil Kernohan.

Logan Racing’s Kernohan, popular roads returnee Davy Morgan are two stroke specialists of the highest quality and are likely to feature at the sharp end of the results sheet.

Added prominent calibre riders entered on 250 machinery include Gareth Keys, Sidecar TT great Dan Sayle and reigning IRRC Superbike Champion Davey Todd (Wilson Craig Racing).

Likely lead 400cc forces include twice Ultra Lightweight Manx GP winner Darryl Tweed and David Howard. Keep an eye as well on Aidan Cleary and Armoy newcomer, experienced Mountain Course, Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough competitor Rad Hughes.

125/Moto 3/Supersport 300:

125/Moto 3 lap record holder at Armoy, Derek McGee starts the prime favourite for various roads insiders for class honours.

Competing as in 2019 for the ambitious Faraldo Racing team, 2019 Lightweight TT runner-up McGee is formidable at the ‘Race of Legends’ and it’s going to take something special to stop him adding to his Irish road race wins collection.

Anticipated top pursuers include Michael Browne and the Joey’s Bar MCC Racing Honda, which has proven quite the potent combination during recent short circuit meetings.

Further podium finishing contenders include Nigel Moore, Eoin O’Siochru, Melissa Kennedy from taking podium finishes in the seven lap race, title sponsored by Stanley Stewart Racing.

Support Races:

The Junior Support, Senior Support races year in year out help produce the pure road racing stars of tomorrow.

Racers hoping to bolster their reputations at Armoy include event newcomers Frankie Stennett, the Isle of Wight’s Ryan Whitehall, Mike Mace, Nigel Rea, Kelly Carruthers and Barry Sheehan.

There’s also racers who epitomise the term ‘Grass Roots’ like Kevin Barsby, John Cahill, Ben Plant, Michael Gillan and brother of BE Racing’s Paul Jordan, Gary Jordan.

Implant into the mix up coming new wave talents such as Eoin O’Siochru, Ryan Fenton, Sam Grief, Ben Mullane, Wilson Craig Racing’s Steven Smith and your guaranteed intriguing Support class action.

Junior Classic/Senior Classic:

I can’t help but think Classic TT vibes when focusing upon the Armoy Junior Classic, Senior Classic races.

Alongside established yesteryear racing giants Barry Davidson, Richard Ford, Philip Shaw the entry lists feature the following star names:

2018 Junior Classic TT victor Dominic Herbertson, ten times TT winner Ian Lougher (John Chapman MV Agusta), eight times ‘Race of Legends’ winner Michael Dunlop and BSA pilot, TV personality, world record breaker Guy Martin.

Newcomers watch wise, expect TT veteran Mark Parrett, BHR (British Historic Racing) front runner Neil Lloyd (Lloyds Racing Honda) to give good accounts of themselves.

I’d be remiss not to also mention Ben Rea, Wattie Brown, John Leigh Pemberton, Robert McCrum, Jamie O’Brien, Nigel Moore and Leon Murphy who like the aforementioned above are capable of banking notable results.

Photo’s by Tommy Vennard, Rod Neill

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles