Anstey Blitzes 250 Lap/Race Records On Route To Dunlop Lightweight Victory

Anstey Blitzes 250 Lap/Race Records On Route To Dunlop Lightweight Victory

Repeating his dominance of last year, 35 times international road race winner Bruce Anstey set new lap/race records on his way to a second successive Lightweight Classic TT victory.

Never headed in the four lap race, the genial New Zealander was in a class of his own on the Padgetts RS 250 Honda.

Lapping from a standing start at 119.888 mph, lap two saw him create yet another moment of Mountain Course history, setting the first ever 120 mph lap by a two stroke machine on the Isle of Man’s historic and unrivalled roads.

Photo by Jim Gibson

The lap speed, which stood at 120.475 mph at the time gave him a lead of plus 51 seconds, on fellow multi TT winner Dan Sayle.

The Manxman though soon encountered problems with the Steelcote Solutions Ltd Yamaha on lap three, which elevated Michael Rutter aboard the Red Fox Grinta Racing Ducati into a fine second place.

1 minute 24.857 seconds behind race winner Anstey, the West Midlands based racer perhaps surprised some with his performance, given that he’s not as recognised for his two stroke exploits, as the likes of third place finisher, Laylaw Racing’s Ian Lougher.

However following post race inspections, Rutter was removed from race results, due to what was described as a technical infringement.

This elevated Lougher up to second, with JRC Racing’s Ivan Lintin originally fourth now third.

Photo’s by Mark Corlett

Others to benefit from Rutter/Red Fox Grinta Racing’s disqualification included Phil Harvey and Turner Racing’s Dan Cooper, now credited with fourth and fifth place finishes.

Remaining places within the top ten were clinched respectively by Paul Owen, leading privateer Stuart Hall, Rikki McGovern, former TT Privateers champion Dan Stewart and Peter Boast.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Added noteworthy results included Steven Howard 13th, Adrian Morris 14th, Ben Rea 15th and Peter Moore 17th whilst the sole newcomer to finish the four lap race was David Glover in 29th place.

Michael Dunlop in the mix early on for a podium retired at the pits at the end of lap 1, whilst additional high profile competitors to endure 250 woes included Dan Kneen, Davy Morgan and Gary Vines.

Dunlop Lightweight Classic TT – Race Results:

1 Bruce Anstey
2 Ian Lougher
3 Ivan Lintin
4 Phil Harvey
5 Dan Cooper
6 Paul Owen
7 Stuart Hall
8 Rikki McGovern
9 Dan Stewart
10 Peter Boast
11 Alex Sinclair
12 Michael Sweeney
13 Steven Howard
14 Adrian Morris
15 Ben Rea
16 Tom Snow
17 Peter Moore
18 Dave Madsen Mygdal
19 Stephen Ault
20 Eric Lenser
21 Jim Barnett
22 Simon Hunt
23 Alistair Haworth
24 Chris Moore
25 James Ford
26 Christopher Dowling
27 James Tye
28 Andrew Cowie
29 David Glover
30 Grant Dalton
31 Lee Jennings

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles