Aberdare Park: Cooper Secures Fifth Welsh Open Title

Aberdare Park: Cooper Secures Fifth Welsh Open Title

Securing a fifth Welsh Open crown in six years, Stroud’s Dan Cooper proved once again yesterday at Aberdare Park why he is regarded as one of the all time greats, of Wales at present only roads meeting.

Dominant throughout both of the weekends Welsh Open races, Sunday afternoon’s feature race saw the 2013 TT Privateers champion truly in a league of his own, powering to race honours by a margin of over 25 seconds in front of nearest pursuer Paul ‘Potchy’ Williams.

Photo by Steve Snelling

Local favourite Williams was also the nearest challenger to KW Electrical Services/CMS backed Cooper in the opening Welsh Open encounter on Saturday, which saw ‘Park’ newcomer Joe Thompson aboard the Trickbits Racing SVR17 Suzuki impress in sealing an excellent third place finish.

Renowned event specialist Jay Bellers Smith claimed the final spot on the rostrum in Sunday’s ten lap encounter, as York’s Thompson finished fourth.

Others to show solid, accomplished form throughout the two days of competition for the coveted Welsh Open title included the ever enthusiastic Justin Collins, former Welsh Open champion John Simpson, James Evans and event debutants Tom Vear and William Holland.

Full race results, are as follows:

Welsh Open Race 1:

1 Dan Cooper
2 Paul Williams
3 Joe Thompson
4 Jay Bellers Smith
5 John Simpson
6 James Evans
7 Justin Collins
8 Samuel Mousley
9 William Holland
10 Dean Jones

Welsh Open Race 2:

1 Dan Cooper
2 Paul Williams
3 Jay Bellers Smith
4 Joe Thompson
5 James Evans
6 Justin Collins
7 Tom Vear
8 William Holland
9 John Simpson
10 Samuel Mousley

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles