2023 Roads Season: Stats/Facts Compilation

2023 Roads Season: Stats/Facts Compilation

I’m sure lots of you will have read many of these stats, facts before but here’s a compilation of intriguing information to arise from another gripping, exhilarating, enthralling pure road racing season.

• Post TT 2022, over 240 riders have now lapped the Mountain Course at over 120 mph.

• Peter Hickman uniquely now holds at the same time, the outright TT, Ulster GP and North West 200 lap records.

• Conor Cummins is now the fourth quickest racer in TT history, fastest Honda mounted TT competitor of all time.

• Jamie Coward is the first racer to retain the TT Privateers Championship.

• 27 different racers took Irish Road Race Championship round victories.

• Barry Davidson is now only one win shy, of the 100 Irish road race wins mark.

• Michael Dunlop, Ryan Farquhar’s combined Irish road race wins total stands at 323.

• Vincent Lonbois is the first Yamaha mounted rider, to secure the IRRC Superbike title.

• In total just three racers this season secured IRRC Supersport victories, Marek Cerveny, Jorn Hamberg and Petr Najman.

• It’s 137 years since the first ever motorcycle was created, the Reitwagen model created by Daimler.

• Post last July’s competition at Armoy, the top 30 quickest ‘Race of Legends’ exponents have all registered lap speeds in excess of 101.3 mph.

• Richard Vuillermet is now France’s fastest Cookstown exponent.

• Chris Meyer is now Germany’s fastest Cookstown exponent.

• Overall, back in April at Cookstown 48 different racers across Friday, Saturday’s races claimed podium finishes.

• Junior Support (B) race runner-up Ivo Ladde, became the first racer from Switzerland to secure a podium finish at Cookstown in the 21st Century.

• Total mileage accumulated by racers during the RST Classic Superbike Manx Grand Prix, was over 4,600.

• Alasdair Cowan Racing are the tenth different team since 2010, to enjoy Senior MGP success.

• Now a 25 times event winner, Dean Harrison is just seven behind Ian Lougher’s leading Southern 100 wins total of 32.

• Sixty years ago, Gary Hocking, took his second and final TT victory, winning in dominant style the blue riband Senior race.

• The overall prize fund for the 70th Scarborough Gold Cup meeting, exceeded £9,000 pounds.

• Davey Todd is now the ninth quickest racer in Oliver’s Mount history.

• Michael Browne remains the fastest Oliver’s Mount newcomer of this decade, just ahead of impressive, recent Manx newcomer Joe Yeardsley.

Photo credit: Tommy Vennard

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles