Xassos Urban Cup – Growing Further In Stature

Xassos Urban Cup – Growing Further In Stature

The unique Xassos Urban Cup meeting, held on the bumpy ultra challenging roads of Fontes in Portugal, is growing further in stature, illustrated by the strong entry/turn out of fans to this years event.

Marking ten years of real roads action, late last month saw Vitor Sabino/Luis Godinho secure Pro category victory, plus overall race honours.

The CPV Racing duo, chalked up 80 laps on their way to victory, whilst the standard Xassos category, was scooped by Macal M83 mounted Joao Ferreira, who held off tenacious challenges from David Martins/Emanuel Nobrega, Telmo Martins and Antonio Guedes.

Luis Leitao/Alvaro Vale, veteran class winners, also finished a very respectable 11th overall out of the 46 finishers, in the 2017 running of the event dubbed as ‘The Craziest Race In The World’.

Maintaining Portugal’s famous pure road racing heritage, the Xassos Urban Cup similar in nature to the likes of Motovelocidad Del Valle in Colombia and La Baneza in Spain, is now in my opinion established amongst continental Europe’s most popular roads meetings.

Photo via Xassos Urban Cup – Fontes Facebook Page

2017 Xassos Urban Cup – Overall Results:

1 Vitor Sabino/Luis Godinho
2 M.Nunes/E.Cabral/F.Nogueira
3 N.Santos/H.Santos/V.Santos
4 Paulo Guimaraes/Andre Silva
5 Joao Ferreira
6 Joao Vilela/Gil Gomes
7 David Martins/Emanuel Nobrega
8 Fabio Felicia/Nelson Frances
9 A.Azevedo/P.Saraiva/J.Leal
10 Telmo Martins
11 Luis Leitao/Alvaro Vale
12 Antonio Gonzalez/M.Barguilla
13 Luis Meireles/Luis P.Meireles
14 Antonio Guedes
15 David dos Santos Miguel
16 Antonio Costa/Ricardo Silva
17 Paulo Fontoura/Artur Matias
18 Joao Silva/Americo Resende
19 D. Vieira/M. Costa/P Magalhaes
20 Bruno Coelho/Miguel Carneiro
21 N. Duarte/A. Silva/T. Ramos
22 Miguel Silva
23 Andre Afonso/Andre Meireis
24 Claudio Ferreira
25 Luis Paulo Araujo
26 Hugo Gorito/Luis Miranda
27 Carlos Tavares/Alex. Tavares
28 Alberto Correia
29 Mario Brás/Jose Monteiro
30 Pedro Nogueira/Mario Pinto
31 Jose Megre/Marco Pauleta
32 Rui Alves
33 Alexandre Pereira/Lucas Pereir
34 Tiago Rodrigues
35 Jose Pereira
36 Daniel Silva/Diogo Fernandes
37 Tiago Santos
38 G Pinto/F Rocha/J Simoes-Mota
39 Nuno Carvalho/Jose Costa
40 Antonio Alves/Jose Alves
41 Bruno Campeao/Joao Gomes
42 P.Almeida/J.Santos/D.Santos
43 Antonio Coutinho
44 Carlos Magalhaes
45 Sergio Sousa
46 Patricio Teixeira

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles