TT 2022: Flying Hickman Tops The Times, Surpasses 130 Mph Mark

TT 2022: Flying Hickman Tops The Times, Surpasses 130 Mph Mark
Amidst plenty of talk around wet weather approaching, Monday evening’s Superstock/Superbike TT practice session looked set to got underway 21 minutes behind schedule at 6:40 PM.

Following a non-racing medical emergency, the start-time was then put back to 6:52 PM.

Once action commenced, first to make the rapid trek down Bray Hill was reigning Senior TT Champion Dean Harrison.

Harrison set the pace at the first timing point (Glen Helen), leading Gas Monkey Garage by FHO Racing’s Peter Hickman by just tenths of a second.

Hickman soon vaulted to P1 on the live timing screens at Ballaugh Bridge, moving almost three seconds faster than Harrison.

As he completed his standing start lap, Harrison’s recorded lap speed stood at just over 128 mph.

This was soon bettered and some by the flying Hickman, lapping at 129.37 mph.

Overall Saturday afternoon pace setter Davey Todd (127.77), headed the Superstock standings whilst Ian Hutchinson, John McGuinness MBE recorded almost identical lap times.

Current Junior/Senior Manx GP Champion Nathan Harrison, continued to impress registering unofficially his first lap speed exceeding the 125-mph mark.

The pace increased further on the opening flying laps with Hickman, Harrison evenly matched.

As second timed laps concluded, Harrison went through at 129.836 mph before Hickman set the first 130 mph lap of TT 2022, lapping at 130.719 mph.

Fastest Superstock 1000 pilot, 2019 IRRC Superbike Champion Todd (129.58) was also over the 129- mph barrier.

Second best stock 1000 runner behind Todd was Padgetts team-mate Conor Cummins (127.91).

Carrying on his accomplished progress around the fabled, mythical Mountain Course, Glenn Irwin nearly edged over the 123-mph mark.

Hickman went onto the finish the ultimately red-flagged session fastest, thanks to the aforementioned 130.7 mph plus lap.

The session was red-flagged with just minutes left to run following an incident close to Laurel Bank, involving Sam West, whom we wish a very speedy recovery.

This incident additionally forced the cancellation of Sidecar practice.

TT 2022: Monday Superbike practice result, reads as follows:

1st – Peter Hickman – 130.719

2nd – Dean Harrison – 129.836

3rd – Davey Todd – 128.014

4th – Michael Dunlop – 127.944

5th – John McGuinness MBE – 127.771

6th – Sam West – 126.903

7th – Phil Crowe – 126.532

8th – Ian Hutchinson – 126.388

9th – Lee Johnston – 126.25

10th – Dominic Herbertson – 125.98

11th – Derek Sheils – 125.565

12th – Jamie Coward – 125.173

13th – James Hillier – 124.948

14th – Michael Rutter – 124.138

15th – Paul Jordan – 124.093

16th – Brian McCormack – 123.979

17th – Michael Sweeney – 123.971

18th – Shaun Anderson – 122.569

19th – Matt Stevenson – 122.48

20th – Glenn Irwin – 122.355

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles