TT 2018: Friday Superstock/Superstock Practice Round Up

TT 2018: Friday Superstock/Superstock Practice Round Up


Once again powering to the top of the Superstock time sheets, Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman ended another practice session for the production 1000cc machines at TT 2018 with the fastest lap speed, having lapped this evening at 130.829 mph.

Hickman’s pace was so strong tonight that on the final time sheets he finished over three mph clear of nearest pursuer in practice, Gulf BMW’s David Johnson (127.562).

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Gary Johnson (127.360) took the stock RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki to third on the practice leader board whilst Bathams SMT Racing’s Michael Rutter (127.040), Shaun Anderson (126.802) and Penz 13 BMW’s Jamie Coward (126.526) all showed solid, consistent, accomplished form.

Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Ivan Lintin (126.361), Brian McCormack (125.920), Dominic Herbertson (125.578) and Duke Road Race Rankings championship leader Derek McGee (125.476) finalised the ten fastest racers from tonight.

Superstock Practice Results:

1 Peter Hickman 130.829
2 David Johnson 127.562
3 Gary Johnson 127.360
4 Michael Rutter 127.040
5 Shaun Anderson 126.802
6 Jamie Coward 126.526
7 Ivan Lintin 126.361
8 Brian McCormack 125.920
9 Dominic Herbertson 125.578
10 Derek McGee 125.476
11 Ian Hutchinson 125.020
12 Sam West 125.015
13 Daley Mathison 124.797
14 James Cowton 124.589
15 Phil Crowe 123.734


No doubt about it, one of the most consistent themes from tonight’s Supersport practice session was the growing emergence of young, hungry next gen roads talents on the fabled Mountain Course.

North West 200 Super Twins race 1 James Cowton with an impressive standing start lap speed of 123.378 mph, finished fastest whilst McAdoo Kawasaki team mate Adam McLean (121.473) third on the time sheets.

Sandwiched in between the talented McAdoo Kawasaki duo on the time sheets was Gary Johnson (122.874), whilst Senior Manx GP champion Michael Evans (119.637) and leading newcomer Davey Todd (119.474) both hugely impressed in finishing fourth and fifth quickest.

Seventh and eighth spots respectively pace wise from tonight were Slick Performance Racing’s Andy Dudgeon (118.958) and Team ILR’s highly rated York racer Joe Thompson (118.861).

Finalising the top ten on this evening’s practice leader board were a trio of Manx GP graduates, Scotsman Marc Ironside (117.868), Preston’s Darren Cooper (116.372) and Scarborough’s Nick Anderson (116.235).

Supersport Practice Results:

1 James Cowton 123.378
2 Gary Johnson 122.874
3 Adam McLean 121.473
4 Michael Evans 119.637
5 Davey Todd 119.474
6 Andy Dudgeon 118.958
7 Joe Thompson 118.861
8 Marc Ironside 117.868
9 Darren Cooper 116.372
10 Nick Anderson 116.235
11 Richard Charlton 115.845
12 Kamil Holan 115.813
13 Jim Hodson 115.550
14 Jonathan Perry 115.088
15 Michal Dokoupil 114.714
16 Josh Daley 114.192
17 Mark Goodings 114.037
18 Glenn Harrison 113.828
19 Rhys Hardisty 113.650
20 Rob Whittall 113.573

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles