TT 2018: Dunlop Moves 29 Points Clear In Race For The Joey Dunlop Championship

TT 2018: Dunlop Moves 29 Points Clear In Race For The Joey Dunlop Championship

Bolstering his chances of adding another prestigious title to his already stellar TT 2018 CV, via a record breaking Monster Energy Supersport race 1 success, plus finishing runner up in a quite pulsating Royal London 360 Quantum Superstock race, Michael Dunlop is firmly on course to regain the much coveted Joey Dunlop Championship crown.

Twice a winner of the title awarded each year to the most consistent front running racer of each TT fortnight, he’s at present 29 points in front of nearest challenger Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman in the race for the illustrious title.

Photo by Mark Corlett

Current championship standings are as follows:

1 Michael Dunlop 70
2 Peter Hickman 41
3 James Hillier 40
4 Dean Harrison 36
5 Conor Cummins 31
6 David Johnson 26
T7th Ivan Lintin 21
Martin Jessopp 21
Michael Rutter 21
10 Lee Johnston 18
11 Josh Brookes 16
12 Sam West 14
13 Davey Todd 10
14 Gary Johnson 9
15 James Cowton 8
16 Phil Crowe 7
T17th Derek McGee 6
Dominic Herbertson 6
19 Daley Mathison 5
20 Jamie Coward 4
T21st Shaun Anderson 3
Brian McCormack 3
T22nd Derek Sheils 2
Craig Neve 2

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles