Super Twin TT Seeds Revealed, Herbertson Takes No.1 Plate

Super Twin TT Seeds Revealed, Herbertson Takes No.1 Plate

With just under seven weeks till TT 2023 takes centre stage, the twenty seeded riders for what are certain to be next month, exciting, compelling, drama-filled Carole Nash Super Twins races, have been revealed.

Carrying the prestigious number one plate, will be Cowton Racing’s Dominic Herbertson.

Podcast host, tree cutter, Herbertson recently fourth in the BMW F900R Cup race opener at Silverstone, is a dark horse for stellar finishes in June.

Set to start ten seconds behind the 2018 Junior Classic TT winner is seven times TT-winner, Michael Rutter (Bathams Racing YZF R7 Yamaha).

PreZ Racing’s Paul Jordan goes at three whilst twice successive TT Privateers Champion, Jamie Coward (KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan) as in the Superbike, Superstock, Supersport, Senior races carries the four- plate.

Five plate holder is SMT Racing’s Rob Hodson whilst the six-plate holder is class lap record holder, 21 times TT Champion Michael Dunlop.

Once again aboard Paton tackle, the always fiercely determined Ballymoney racer is ultra-keen to regain the Super Twins class crown.

Twice TT winner Gary Johnson (Dafabet Racing), 2021 IRRC Supersport Champion Pierre Yves Bian (VAS Engine Paton) occupy plates seven and eight.

Finalising the first ten starters are Lee Johnston (Ashcourt Racing RS660 Aprilia) and outright TT lap record holder, new YZF R7 Yamaha pilot Peter Hickman (PHR Performance).

Eleven, twelve, thirteen plate holders respectively, the Team ILR with Frog Racing Developments Italian pairing of Francesco Curinga and Stefano Bonetti, Czech ace Michal Dokoupil (Rocknet Aprilia), add further depth to the Twins entry.

Same applies to two stroke racing specialist, 2022 Junior Manx GP runner-up Chris Moore (Silverstar Services-iHeat Racing).

Rounding out the seeded riders are James Chawke (Carl Roberts-Emmjess Racing Kawasaki), Michael Browne (BE/RK Racing Paton), Michael Sweeney (Team ILR with Frog Racing Developments).

Xavier Denis (PerformanX Racing Team Kawasaki), Michael Evans (Rea Racing Dyno-M.E Racing Aprilia) and Bathams Racing’s Craig Neve.

Outside of the seeded exponents, additional noteworthy start numbers include Jonathan Goetschy (25), fellow Frenchman Timothee Monot (28), WH Racing’s Julian Trummer (27) and TT debutant Marcus Simpson (55).

Full re-cap of the Carole Nash Super Twins TT first twenty starters:

1 – Dominic Herbertson
2 – Michael Rutter
3 – Paul Jordan
4 – Jamie Coward
5 – Rob Hodson
6 – Michael Dunlop
7 – Gary Johnson
8 – Pierre Yves Bian
9 – Lee Johnston
10 – Peter Hickman

11 – Stefano Bonetti
12 – Franceso Curinga
13 – Michal Dokoupil
14 – Chris Moore
15 – James Chawke
16 – Michael Browne
17 – Michael Sweeney
18 – Xavier Denis
19 – Michael Evans
20 – Craig Neve

Photo credit: Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles