Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix – Record Breaking Irwin Consolidates Top Spot In Qualifying

Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix – Record Breaking Irwin Consolidates Top Spot In Qualifying

Glenn Irwin dipped under Stuart Easton’s existing lap record to consolidate in commanding style pole position, for the 51st Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

The Be Wiser Ducati racers momentous lap time of 2 minutes 23.081 seconds, provided him a gap of over 1.8 seconds over his nearest pursuers following the culmination of the second qualifying session.

Photo by ID

Although Irwin’s pace has been mightily impressive in qualifying, discount at your peril second quickest reigning Macau GP champion Peter Hickman (2.24.891) who’s choice of tyre in the form of Dunlop’s could well as in recent years prove a shrewd move for the upcoming 12 lap race.

Bathams SMT team mate Michael Rutter (2.24.973) was under a tenth behind his fellow multi Macau winning exponent, whilst fourth fastest Conor Cummins (2.25.555) showed a good turn of speed to out pace consistent event front runner Martin Jessopp.

Finalising the top ten overall on the time sheets following both qualifying sessions are, David Johnson, Lee Johnston aboard the exotic HP4 Race BMW, TT Privateers champion Horst Saiger, Cookstown 100 Grand Final winner Derek Sheils and Lee Hardy Racing’s Gary Johnson.

Q2 (Qualifying 2) also saw the likes of Dan Kneen, Dan Cooper, Top Gun Racing’s Dan Hegarty, world’s fastest road racer Dean Harrison and Marek Cerveny all drop at least 1.5 seconds or more off their previous best times from first qualifying.

Alex Polita remains at the helm of the newcomers challenge, finishing overall a very creditable 24th quickest just in front of fellow debutant Petr Biciste.

Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix – Overall Qualifying Results:

1 Glenn Irwin 2.23.081
2 Peter Hickman 2.24.891
3 Michael Rutter 2.24.973
4 Conor Cummins 2.25.555
5 Martin Jessopp 2.26.056
6 David Johnson 2.26.468
7 Lee Johnston 2.26.941
8 Horst Saiger 2.26.999
9 Derek Sheils 2.27.053
10 Gary Johnson 2.27.159
11 Dan Kneen 2.27.181
12 Didier Grams 2.27.321
13 Danny Webb 2.27.781
14 Dan Cooper 2.28.578
15 Dan Hegarty 2.29.017
16 Ivan Lintin 2.29.052
17 Sam West 2.29.454
18 Dean Harrison 2.29.500
19 Marek Cerveny 2.29.660
20 Ben Wylie 2.30.254
21 Michael Sweeney 2.31.312
22 AJ Venter 2.31.387
23 Andre Pires 2.32.167
24 Alex Polita 2.32.271
25 Petr Biciste 2.32.367
26 Steve Heneghan 2.32.450
27 Davy Morgan 2.35.508
28 Xavier Denis 2.37.547

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles