Stats: North West 200 Feature Race Victors

Stats: North West 200 Feature Race Victors

Since the race’s inauguration in 1979, just 18 different racers have added North West 200 feature race honours to their racing CV’s.

Not surprisingly the rider who holds the record for most NW200 feature race triumphs is the legend that is Joey Dunlop.

During the 1980’s, the five times World Champion, most victorious International Road Racer in history, secured six premier class victories, including three successive wins from 1985-1987.

Photo by Rod Neill

Additional competitors to gain multiple blue riband Triangle course race spoils are as follows:

11 times TT victor Phillip McCallen (2 wins), nine times Macau GP winner Michael Rutter (5 wins), Robert Dunlop (2 wins).

Steve Plater (3 wins), unofficial event lap record holder Glenn Irwin (2 wins) and all time NW200 wins record holder Alastair Seeley (2 wins).

Racers not mentioned yet to have taken feature class spoils at the North West 200, are as follows:

(Year near racers name indicates year they secured premier class honours)

Keith Huewen (1980), Mick Grant (1982), Graham Wood (1984), Steve Cull (1988), Steve Hislop (1989), Trevor Nation (1991), four times World Superbike Champion Carl Fogarty (1993).

Robert Holden (1995), David Jefferies (1999), Iain Duffus (2002), Bruce Anstey (2005) and 19 times TT winner, official NW200 lap record holder Michael Dunlop (2014).

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles