Southern 100 – Michael Dunlop Dominates Corlett’s Trophies 600/1000 Race

Southern 100 – Michael Dunlop Dominates Corlett’s Trophies 600/1000 Race

Michael Dunlop was in dominant form in the opening race of the 2016 Southern 100, the Corlett’s Trophies 600/1000 race.

Piloting the machine that he took to RST Superbike and Pokerstars Senior victories at TT 2016, the Hawk Racing S1000RR BMW, the 13 times TT winner was victorious by over 12 seconds, following another blistering world class all round performance.


Photo by Nick Wheeler

Ivan Lintin, Devitt RC Express Racing ZX10R Kawasaki finished an excellent second, holding off a strong challenge from Dan Kneen on the Mar Train Racing YZF R1M Yamaha, who finalised the top three finishers.


Photo by Louis Porter

Jamie Coward new to the Devitt RC Express Racing fold, impressed in finishing a more than creditable fourth.

Dan Hegarty propelled the RTR Motorcycles Racing ZX10R Kawasaki to an impressive fifth, as he showcased again this evening, why for many he is amongst the most improved riders on the roads.


Photo by Jim Gibson

Newcomer to Billown Alan Bonner, rounded out the top six finishers, as he made it three Devitt RC Express Racing Kawasaki’s in the top six.

Charmer Builders backed Ryan Kneen was next up in seventh, he was followed by 2004 senior Manx Grand Prix winner Davy Morgan, Mark Parrett and James Cowton, who finished the leading supersport 600 mounted rider.

Added stand out performances included Brendan Fargher 14th, Darryl Tweed 16th, Glenn Harrison 18th and Jamie Hodson in 20th place.

Anticipated front runner Dean Harrison, was involved in an incident during the original start of the race, he is reported to be perfectly ok.


Photo by Mark Corlett

Michael Dunlop’s record of winning at least one race, at every roads meeting in which he has competed at this year, continues.

Will he regain the solo championship title this week? it’s looking an extremely likely possibility.

Southern 100 – Corlett’s Trophies 600/1000 Race Results:

1 Michael Dunlop
2 Ivan Lintin + 12
3 Dan Kneen
4 Jamie Coward
5 Dan Hegarty
6 Alan Bonner
7 Ryan Kneen
8 Davy Morgan
9 Mark Parrett
10 James Cowton
11 Colin Stephenson
12 Frank Gallagher
13 Rhys Hardisty
14 Brendan Fargher
15 Mark Goodings
16 Darryl Tweed
17 Adrian Harrison
18 Glenn Harrison
19 Simon Fulton
20 Jamie Hodson

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *