Road Racing’s Great Races – 2009 Southern 100 Solo Championship

The 2009 Southern 100 solo championship would prove to be one of the best races we’ve seen in road racing over the last six years, four riders battled it out throughout Ryan Farquhar, Guy Martin, Conor Cummins and Michael Dunlop.

With two laps to go Michael Dunlop lead but then Ryan Farquhar hit the front with Guy Martin close behind, on the final lap Martin and Farquhar made a slight break over Dunlop and Cummins. At the end of a exhilarating race Guy Martin secured his first Southern 100 solo championship success by 0.163 of a second over Ryan Farquhar.

Conor Cummins was third with Michael Dunlop fourth on Robinson concrete backed CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade. Under 0.8 of a second covered the first four riders, fans around Billown enjoyed every minute of a race which will live long in the memory at the friendly races.

Ian Lougher finished in fifth position as Stephen Oates completed the top six on Hallett Aviation racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki. James Mcbride, Scott Wilson, Davy Morgan and Paul Dobbs rounded out the top ten.

Since 2009 Guy Martin has gone onto become Southern 100 solo championship winner a further two times in 2013 and this years following a great battle with Southern 100 lap record holder Dean Harrison. But Guy’s solo championship success in 2009 has to be considered amongst his best road racing wins to date.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *