Road Racing News

Provisional Schedule For 2019 IRRC Series Breaks Cover

IRRC organisers have recently released the provisional dates for next years series, which are planned to once again begin in the Netherlands, at the Hengelo based Varsselring course.

Following competition at the Varsselring (11-12th May), the series fraternity is then set to venture in June to Finland to tackle the ex Grand Prix venue of Imatranajo (14-16th June).

July sees at present two rounds scheduled to take place, the first in the Czech Republic at the high speed Terlicko course (13-14th July), and the second in Belgium at Circuit De Chimay (26-28th July).

Photo by Pekka Varis

Attention for championship competitors then focuses upon the Czech Republic’s most famous roads circuit, Horice (17-18th August), which last August saw Danny Webb become the UK’s first IRRC series champion.

Competition for 2019 is then anticipated to conclude in Germany at Frohburg (22-23rd September) which in recent years has hosted many a gripping Supersport, Superbike championship battle.

Anticipated entrants for the 2019 IRRC Supersport, Superbike championships are not clear at present, but it seems as though BMW Motorrad will enjoy a strong presence again courtesy of teams such as Rico Penzkofer’s Penz outfit.

Reminder of the full provisional 2019 IRRC (International Road Racing Championship) schedule:

11-12th May Hengelo, Varsselring
14-16th June Imatranajo
13-14th July Terlicko
26-28th July Circuit De Chimay
17-18th August Horice
22-23rd September Frohburg

Words by Stevie Rial