On This Day: 19th June

On This Day: 19th June

Four years ago today Dean Harrison produced another first rate display at Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough to seal a fourth successive Cock O’The North title.

Harrison who placed fourth in the previous week’s Senior TT, showed again his impeccable prowess of the 2.43 miles long Scarborough course, taking feature race spoils by almost nine seconds over twice Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin.

The much missed trio of Daley Mathison, Alan Bonner and James Cowton finished respectively third, fourth and sixth whilst fifth place was taken by ‘Mini TT’ specialist Mick Goodings.

Rounding out the first ten finishers were future Senior Manx GP winner Tom Weeden, runaway Classic Superbike victor Jamie Coward, Junior B Supersport, Open B race victor Brad Vicars and improving Manx roads force Jamie Williams.

Aside from the premier class action, added highlights from the 2016 Cock O’The North Road Races included three prominent IRRC competitors taking to the Mount for the first time, twice IRRC Supersport Champion Laurent Hoffmann and fellow countryman Kevin De Frenne and Steven Galens.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles