Oliver’s Mount 2016 Meetings Review – Part 1 – The Champions

Oliver’s Mount 2016 Meetings Review – Part 1 – The Champions

It’s been a great year of competition at Oliver’s Mount in 2016.

Without a doubt the main star this year around the mount, has been Dean Harrison.

The Bradford based rider, has dominated at Scarborough, wrapping up multiple victories including the Cock of The North and Barry Sheene Trophy titles on the Silicone Engineering Racing Kawasaki’s.

It’s fair to say that Dean at present is the current master of the mount, now a two times Gold Cup winner, it would not surprise me if in the future he exceeded Guy Martin’s record tally of eight Gold Cup victories.


Alongside the 2014 Lightweight TT winner, additional riders to have starred in 2016 at the mount, have included Bob Smith Spring Cup winner Dan Hegarty.

Since making his Scarborough debut at the Spring Cup National Road Races last year, he has gone from strength to strength, at England’s only pure road racing circuit.

Now an established Oliver’s Mount front runner, the TT privateers champion goes into 2017, now not just a rising roads star, but an established top class roads competitor, more than worthy of been considered “world class”.

Two times Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin, has enjoyed another productive year at Scarborough, going unbeaten in the Super Twin class on the Devitt RC Express Racing ER6 Kawasaki, plus recently wrapping up overall success in the David Jefferies Cup Junior A races, at the 66th Scarborough Gold Cup.

Further race winners at Scarborough this year, include Steve Mercer, Paul Owen, Ian Lougher, David Bell, Davy Morgan, Adrian Harrison, James Cowton and first time victors Mike Norbury, recent Stu Reed Trophy winner Joe Thompson and Jamie Williams.

Full results from the most prestigious races at Oliver’s Mount in 2016, are as follows:

Bob Smith Spring Cup:

1 Dan Hegarty
2 Daley Mathison
3 Mick Goodings
4 Tom Weeden
5 Stephen Degnan
6 Mark Goodings
7 Darren Cooper
8 James Tadman
9 Owen Graves
10 Paul Marley
11 Craig Robertson

Cock of The North – Feature Race:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Ivan Lintin
3 Daley Mathison
4 Alan Bonner
5 Mick Goodings
6 James Cowton
7 Tom Weeden
8 Jamie Coward
9 Brad Vicars
10 Jamie Williams
11 Brian Greenfield
12 Stephen Degnan
13 Andrew Sellars
14 Gary Graves
15 Tom Robinson
16 Adam Child

Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Ivan Lintin
3 Dan Kneen
4 Daley Mathison
5 John McGuinness
6 Mick Goodings
7 Mark Goodings
8 Tom Weeden
9 James Cowton
10 Brian Greenfield
11 Brad Vicars
12 Phil Stead
13 David McConnachy
14 Stephen Degnan
15 Gaz Evans
16 Jay Bellers Smith
17 Andrew Sellars
18 Owen Graves

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *