NW200: Triangle Course Triumph No.25 For Seeley

NW200: Triangle Course Triumph No.25 For Seeley

27 minutes behind schedule, getting underway at 6:12 PM, the Strain Engineering Supersport race opened racing proceedings at this year’s FonaCAB & Nicholl Oils North West 200.

Pole sitter Alastair Seeley got the hole shot and led into York Hairpin before Milenco by Padgetts Davey Todd grabbed the race lead.

Seeley by lap one’s conclusion was back into the lead and was 0.604 ahead of former IRRC Superbike Champion Todd.

McAdoo Kawasaki’s Adam McLean occupied third, Jeremy McWilliams was fourth, James Hillier as high as second on lap 1 was fifth as Dean Harrison rounded out the top six.

Just as lap two commenced, red flags unfortunately entered the horizon around the Triangle course, following an incident occurring at the Magherabuoy Chicane.

Following a moderate delay, racing re-commenced with a new reduced four lap distance.

As during the previous race start, Brotton’s Todd, 24 times NW200 winner Seeley were setting the early pace.

Post the conclusion of lap one, Seeley headed Todd by just 0.294, veteran McWilliams was just a further 0.154 in arrears.

Early into lap two McWilliams took second place from Todd whilst a high-profile early retirement was 19 times TT winner Michael Dunlop.

Padgetts Todd was soon back into the lead ahead of Seeley with McWilliams back in third.

By lap two’s completion, Seeley returned to P1, 0.676 ahead of Todd. McWilliams remained third just ahead of Tobermore’s McLean.

Lap three saw Seeley, Todd continuing to swap the lead, the stage was well and truly set for a Grandstand finish.

The opening of the fourth and final lap saw McLean run straight-on up the slip road whilst McWilliams via a stern move took Todd for second at York Hairpin.

Classic TT, Ulster GP podium finisher Todd wasn’t giving up though and soon reclaimed second, could he chase down IFS Global Logistics supported Seeley?

The answer was no as Seeley kept his cool, going onto emerge victorious by almost two seconds over gallant runner-up Todd.

McWilliams having his first race outing aboard the BE Racing/RK Racing Yamaha took third whilst Cookstown 600cc lap record holder McLean banked fourth.

Conor Cummins took fifth, Dean Harrison was sixth, James Hillier placed seventh, Matt Rees was an excellent eighth as Joe Loughlin, Pierre Yves Bian finalised the first ten finishers.

Others to produce strong performances included lead newcomer Gary McCoy (12th), Mark Purslow (13th), Phil Stewart (16th) and IRRC Supersport Championship leader Jorn Hamberg (17th).

Strain Engineering Supersport race result, reads as follows:

1st – Alastair Seeley
2nd – Davey Todd
3rd – Jeremy McWilliams
4th – Adam McLean
5th – Conor Cummins
6th – Dean Harrison
7th – James Hillier
8th – Matt Rees
9th – Joe Loughlin
10th – Pierre Yves Bian
11th – Mike Norbury
12th – Gary McCoy
13th – Mark Purslow
14th – Darryl Tweed
15th – Jamie Williams
16th – Phil Stewart
17th – Jorn Hamberg
18th – Joe Thompson
19th – Marty Lennon
20th – Yann Galli
21st – Alan Johnston
22nd – Raul Torras Martinez
23rd – Paul Cranston
24th – Rad Hughes
25th – Chris Sarbora

Photo credit: Rod Neill

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles