Mullingar’s McGee Crowned Duke Road Race Rankings Champion

Mullingar’s McGee Crowned Duke Road Race Rankings Champion

Rewarded for a quite tumultuous season that yielded in total 18 race wins, Mullingar’s Derek McGee has officially been declared as 2018 Duke Road Race Rankings champion.

The Bennetts Lightweight TT runner up is just the eighth racer to claim the highly coveted title, plus is the first racer from Southern Ireland to secure the Duke Road Race Rankings title.

Photo by Baylon McCaughey

Runner up to McGee in this years series was reigning champion Dean Harrison, who finished just 17 points behind the Irish roads Super Twin, Supersport, Superbike title winner.

McAdoo Kawasaki’s Adam McLean banked third in the final standings, and was outside of McGee and Harrison the only racer to amass more than 1000 points.

Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney was a very creditable fourth in the rankings, whilst placing’s fifth and sixth went the way of the late but great James Cowton and world’s fastest road racer Peter Hickman.

Completing the top ten finishers in this years Duke roads championship were Michael Dunlop, Barry Davidson, second fastest newcomer in TT history Davey Todd and Ulster GP feature Superbike runner up Lee Johnston.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles