Road Racing News

Michael Dunlop Prevails In Thrilling Formula 1 Classic TT

Michael Dunlop was victorious in a thrilling formula 1 classic TT.

Piloting team classic Suzuki, the 11 times TT winner produced another memorable display around the mountain course, as alongside lapping at 125.050 mph, he set a new race record.


Photo by Louis Porter

Bruce Anstey race leader on lap 1, lap 2, finished in second place, but had the consolation of setting a stunning new lap record of 126.261 mph on Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Motorcycles YZR 500 Yamaha.

Ryan Farquhar competing on team Winfield 1100 Harris Yamaha, sealed third place finish.

James Hillier recorded fourth place finish on Greenall Racing ZXR 750 Kawasaki, David Johnson powered the team York Suzuki to fifth position.

Mistral Racing’s Jamie Coward rounded out the top six, following a top quality performance from the rising pure road racing star.

Ulster Grand Prix hat trick hero Lee Johnston finished a highly creditable seventh.

Two time TT winner Gary Johnson was eighth, OW01 Yamaha mounted Dan Kneen was ninth as Michael Rutter completed the top ten finishers.

As in all of this years classic TT races, reliability issues struck many notable competitors.

Which included Dean Harrison on the Steelcote solutions backed ZXR 750 Kawasaki, who was in race lead on lap 1.

Plus team mate Ivan Lintin and eighth fastest rider in TT history, Peter Hickman.

With a new lap record, race record, plus multiple great performances from established pure road racing stars, the 2015 formula 1 classic TT, lived up to expectations and some.

Michael Dunlop’s race victory, has ended his years action on the mountain course, in positive style.

All eyes will be on Michael at TT 2016, as he bids to regain his authority on the most famous and most iconic of all road races.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.