McLean Adds Name To Steve Henshaw Gold Cup Winners List

McLean Adds Name To Steve Henshaw Gold Cup Winners List
Tobermore’s Adam McLean became the fourth Steve Henshaw Gold Cup Champion from Northern Ireland, after taking the victory spoils in this afternoon’s reduced in distance, six-lap encounter held in changeable conditions.

Pre-race favourite Davey Todd, fresh from making it four successive Supersport A race victories, got the hole shot at Mere Hairpin and went onto open up a 0.747 advantage over McLean, as lap one finalised.

Towards lap two’s completion, McLean aboard his own outfit’s R6 Yamaha, had charged to the front, overhauling Todd, who from the outside looking in, appeared to have tyre problems.

With Todd’s challenge gradually fading, McLean from lap three on-wards around the 2.43 miles long Oliver’s Mount circuit was dominant, going onto emerge victorious by 8.48 seconds.

Milenco by Padgetts Todd, by the race’s completion had dropped back to third as BTC/NLC Components supported Jim Hind bagged second.

Triple Classic Superbike race winner Derek Sheils placed fourth whilst 2016 Senior Manx GP winner Tom Weeden, Preston’s Lewis Arrowsmith enjoyed strong runs to fifth, sixth respectively.

Remaining race finishers were Welshman Rhys Hardisty, Cowton Racing team member this weekend Toby Shann and Bishop Castle’s Barry Furber.

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles