MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix – Ian Hutchinson Wins Enthralling Feature Superbike Race

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix – Ian Hutchinson Wins Enthralling Feature Superbike Race

After seven enthralling laps of the world famous Dundrod roads venue, it was Tyco BMW’s Ian Hutchinson who secured for the second time in his career, Ulster GP feature superbike race victory.

It’s Ian’s seventh victory at the world’s fastest road race and his 26th international roads win in total.


Bruce Anstey in second place on the Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Motorcycles RC213V-S Honda, lead throughout as he showcased the undoubted competitiveness of the exotic machine.

Michael Dunlop finalised the top three finishers, on the Hawk Racing S1000RR BMW, as he kept up his record of recording podium finishes in every international roads superbike race in 2016.

Honda Racing’s Conor Cummins finished in fourth place, Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison once again impressed as he finished in fifth place.

Dan Kneen, Mar Train Racing YZF R1M Yamaha, rounded out the top six finishers.

William Dunlop propelled his own teams Yamaha to seventh, whilst Steve Mercer was a more than creditable eighth on the Devitt RC Express Racing ZX10R Kawasaki.

Concluding the top ten finishers was Cookstown BE Racing’s Derek Sheils and Derek McGee, Noel Williamson Racing S1000RR BMW.

TT privateers champion Dan Hegarty, as in the superstock race, lead the newcomers challenge, as he finished 12th.

Added riders to impress in a quite brilliant superbike encounter, where Rob Barber 13th, Phil Crowe 14th, Sam West 15th, Xavier Denis 16th and Dominic Herbertson in 18th place.

Peter Hickman who set the fastest lap of the race, was forced into retirement at Wheelers on lap five, through the speed traps in the race, he went through at 199.8 mph!


Photo by Rod Neill

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix – Feature Superbike Race Results:

1 Ian Hutchinson
2 Bruce Anstey
3 Michael Dunlop
4 Conor Cummins
5 Dean Harrison
6 Dan Kneen
7 William Dunlop
8 Steve Mercer
9 Derek Sheils
10 Derek McGee
11 Dan Cooper
12 Dan Hegarty
13 Rob Barber
14 Phil Crowe
15 Sam West
16 Xavier Denis
17 Michael Booth
18 Dominic Herbertson
19 Mark Goodings
20 Ryan Kneen

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *