Mallory Park Race of The Year Summary

Mallory Park Race of The Year Summary

First established in 1958, the Mallory Park Race of The Year has been won by a host of motorcycle racing legends.

This includes inaugural event winner John Surtees, Bob McIntyre, Mike Hailwood, Giacomo Agostini, Barry Sheene, Pat Hennen, Graeme Crosby.

Jarno Saarinen, Gary Hocking, Roger Marshall, Phil Read, Steve Plater and nine times Macau GP winner Michael Rutter.

Time travelling to present times, the leading international road racing force on Sunday at Mallory, was North West 200 front runner Richard Cooper.

Fresh from a hat-trick of victories during the Sunflower Trophy races, Cooper who in 2019 took showpiece race honours at the Cemetery Circuit Races in New Zealand, was piloting Powerslide Motorcycles supported GSX-R 1000 Suzuki machinery.

Despite piloting stock 1000 tackle in comparison to the Superbikes of Danny Kent and Charlie Nesbitt, Cooper managed to split the Hawk Racing/Buildbase Suzuki pair in the 20 lap Race of The Year.

At the race’s conclusion, the speediest NW200 newcomer in history, had finished under half a second behind eventual winner Nesbitt.

Wrapping up the first ten finishers was another highly regarded, respected roads scene member, Banbridge’s Shaun Anderson.

Back in June on Manx shores, Anderson competing under the Hawk Racing banner, secured top 12 finishes from the blue-riband RST Superbike, Dunlop Senior TT encounters.

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles