Road Racing News

Macau Grand Prix race report

The Macau Grand Prix for 2012 started in dry all round conditions and it was Gary Johnson on the Quattro Plant motorsport Honda Fireblade who got the best start but it wasn’t to soon until Michael Rutter hit the front on the SMT Honda superbike. John Mcguinness was in third place whilst fourth was Conor Cummins. By lap 2 Rutter had broke away from the chasing pack still lead by Gary Johnson whilst Simon Andrews had moved in front of John Mcguinness into third place. Conor Cummins was fifth whilst Martin Jessopp was in sixth place.

On lap 3 Rutter still lead whilst Simon Andrews was now into second place until Martin Jessopp then went into second place in front of Andrews, with Johnson and Mcguinness completing the top 5. By lap 5 positions throughout had stayed the same until John Mcguinness out-braked himself trying to pass Gary Johnson for fourth place, this allowed Conor Cummins and Horst Saiger into 5th and 6th places with Mcguinness dropping to seventh place.

Lap 6 saw Rutter’s lead at the front over Jessopp at around 3.4 seconds, Simon Andrews still occupied third place, Gary Johnson was 4th as Conor Cummins completed the top 5 at the end of lap 6. On lap 7 Rutter got the gap at the front up to over 4 seconds from Jessopp who was giving it everything in pursuit of Rutter. Gary Johnson was still in fourth place but was losing time to Simon Andrews in third place. Conor Cummins and Horst Saiger where close together in fifth and sixth places, John Mcguinness was in seventh place and Jimmy Storrar, Dan Kneen and James Hillier completed the top 10 at the end of lap 7.

On laps 8 and 9 positions throughout the race stayed the same although the battle was still on at the front as Jessopp continued to try to close down Rutter. Simon Andrews was still occupying third place in front of Gary Johnson whilst Conor Cummins and Horst Saiger where providing one of the most entertaining battles on track for fifth and sixth place positions. So the final lap beckoned and at the chequered flag Michael Rutter took his 8th Macau Grand Prix win in front of Martin Jessopp who finished in second place on the Riders motorcycles Ducati superbike.

Simon Andrews finished in a superb 3rd place on the Ice Valley racing BMW by Motorsave ltd superstock bike. Gary Johnson took fourth place just in front of Horst Saiger who passed Conor Cummins on the final lap for 5th place as Cummins took 6th place on the Tyco Suzuki by TAS superbike. John Mcguinness finished in seventh place on the SMT Honda superbike whilst Jimmy Storrar, Dan Kneen and James Hillier completed the top 10. Leading newcomer in the race was Steve Heneghan who finished in 18th place on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki superbike.

Davy Morgan finished in 19th place whilst Jamie Hamilton finished in 20th place to complete the top 3 newcomers in the race. Overall another good Macau Grand Prix and one that brought another win for Michael Rutter his 8th Macau Grand Prix win. Whilst it was also encouraging to see many a top newcomer at this years Macau Grand Prix who in the future are sure to be up there fighting for race wins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.