IRRC Imatranajo: Local Hero Kostamo Edges Webb In Big Bike Qualifying

IRRC Imatranajo: Local Hero Kostamo Edges Webb In Big Bike Qualifying

Making the most of vastly improved track conditions within the second qualifying session, Markka Racing’s Erno Kostamo battled his way to a maiden IRRC Superbike pole at Imatranajo.

Finnish star Kostamo lap time of 1 minute 52.352 seconds proved just enough to edge out championship leader Danny Webb (1.52.522) for pole, by just under 0.2 of a second.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Wepol Racing by Penz’s Webb, who’s S1000RR BMW is sporting this weekend a one off Barry Sheene RG500 Suzuki themed livery in celebration of the twice Moto GP world champion achievements, is looking in fine fettle at Imatra, as he aims to continue the form which has seen him become for many now, favourite for IRRC Superbike title honours

Team mate Marek Cerveny (1.53.387) was fourth fastest just behind fellow IRRC great Didier Grams (1.53.378), whilst another European roads giant Horst Saiger (1.54.417) lead the Yamaha challenge in finishing fifth quickest.

Switzerland’s Lukas Maurer (1.54.622) banked sixth on the time sheets, Hebden Bridge’s Jamie Coward seventh quickest also quietly impressed in outpacing Imatra specialist Juha Kallio (1.55.685).

Rounding out the ten quickest qualifiers were Tomas Borovka (1.56.078) and local event wildcard Jani Ratto (1.56.096).

Qualifying Results:

1 Erno Kostamo 1.52.352
2 Danny Webb 1.52.522
3 Didier Grams 1.53.378
4 Marek Cerveny 1.53.387
5 Horst Saiger 1.54.417
6 Lukas Maurer 1.54.622
7 Jamie Coward 1.54.704
8 Juha Kallio 1.55.685
9 Tomas Borovka 1.56.078
10 Jani Ratto 1.56.096
11 David Datzer 1.56.185
12 Marko Ratto 1.56.368
13 Jan Kopponen 1.56.658
14 Martin Jessopp 1.56.763
15 Nico Muller 1.57.074
16 Pavel Tomecek 1.57.180
17 Markus Karlsson 1.57.621
18 Ales Nechvatal 1.59.100
19 Mikhail Shumilin 1.59.773
20 Carl Joha Kallmann 2.00.419
21 Nadieh Schoots 2.01.030
22 Lasse Karki 2.01.048
23 Eddy Maniquet 2.02.027
24 Hanno Brandenburger 2.02.920
25 Dan Kruger 2.03.003
26 Fredrik Enlund 2.04.705
27 Robert Heitzinger 2.05.432
28 Jurgen Welsing 2.05.505
29 Foti Psomadakis 2.05.605
30 Ryan Trocherie 2.05.660
31 Rob Van Eijs 2.06.964
32 Paul Manx 2.08.481

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles