IRRC Imatranajo: Kostamo’s Perfect Ten

IRRC Imatranajo: Kostamo’s Perfect Ten

Believe it or not, today is World Chocolate Day, for Erno Kostamo he certainly had a sweet feeling collecting the perfect ten, ten SBK wins in a row at Imatranajo.

The second IRRC Superbike contest, original start had seen Eemeli Lahti lead Michael Dunlop post two laps circulation before the race was red-flagged, due to a large dosage of heavy rain.

Once competition re-commenced minus above-showcased, 25 times TT winner Dunlop, a new distance of six-laps was announced by meeting organisers.

IPR Moto Racing’s Lahti was again at the race-lead helm, as lap one ended. Imatra wizard Kostamo wasn’t far behind though, 0.010 of a second!

Lap two saw Kostamo jump to P1 and from here, lap on lap, he surged ahead, ultimately seizing race spoils by nigh-on 8.2 seconds over 22 plate occupier Lahti.

2023 IRRC SBK Champion Lukas Maurer pocketed third, Syntainics Racing’s Luca Gottardi impressed in sealing fourth ahead of circuit lap record holder Come Geenen.

Belgian roads royalty Laurent Hoffmann was sixth, Didier Grams was a battling seventh as Kenny Koskinen, David Datzer, Markus Karlsson wrapped up the leader-board top ten.

Placings eleventh to fifteenth went to Johannes Schwimmbeck, Jorn Hamberg, Lukas Karlsson, Wally Jacobs and Anssi Koski.

Remaining race finishers 16th-24th were Tiziano Rosati, Olivier Lupberger, Pekka Pouhakka, Heikki Mannila, Lasse Karki, Rhys Hardisty, Antti Harjunen, Emil Krchnavy and Rene MIkvy.

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles