IRRC Frohburg: Datzer Wins Entertaining Second SBK Encounter

IRRC Frohburg: Datzer Wins Entertaining Second SBK Encounter

Post the IRRC Supersport season finale, attentions within the International Road Racing Championship ventured towards the final Superbike encounter of this year’s entertaining, never short of thrills drenched season.

As in the previous SBK encounter, Didier Grams made a rapid start but wasn’t P1 at lap one’s conclusion.

This honour went to guest rider, Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Jorn Hamberg.

Just over two seconds was all that covered the top six as lap two beckoned.

It was a similar story on lap two with Hamberg still first ahead of Grams, Erno Kostamo and pole-sitter David Datzer.

On lap three, G&G Motorsport’s Grams hit the front and would sternly maintain first up to lap seven when MTP Racing’s Datzer grabbed the initiative.

Grams re-took the race leader role on lap eight, only for Datzer to jump back up to first during the following lap.

The tenth final lap saw ‘Datzii’ record another sub 1:34 seconds lap, hold his nerve to make it successive SBK triumphs at Frohburg.

Second place finisher Grams, IRRC Superbike Championship runner-up for 2023, finished 0.657 down on his fellow countryman.

Above showcased previous first place occupier Hamberg took third with Macau Grand Prix winner Kostamo, Patrick Hoff, Lukas Maurer fourth, fifth, sixth respectively.

Virgil Amber Bloemhard pocketed seventh as Markus Karlsson, Johannes Schwimmbeck, Italian ace Luca Gottardi wrapped up the first ten finishers.

Cornwall’s Forest Dunn ended his first IRRC season tenure with Never Be Clever Racing, with a solid run to fifteenth.

IRRC Frohburg – Superbike Race 2 Result:

1st – David Datzer
2nd – Didier Grams
3rd – Jorn Hamberg
4th – Erno Kostamo
5th – Patrick Hoff
6th – Lukas Maurer
7th – Virgil Amber Bloemhard
8th – Markus Karlsson
9th – Johannes Schwimmbeck
10th – Luca Gottardi

11th – Nico Muller
12th – Freddie Heinrich
13th – Tomas Toth
14th – Marnix D’Hondt
15th – Forest Dunn
16th – Roger Bantli
17th – Guido Nittke
18th – Wally Jacobs
19th – Florian Astner
20th – Steven Bellavoine

21st – Christoph Kreller
22nd – Rene Grundei
23rd – Pontus Roestlinger
24th – Paul Manx
25th – Morgan Baplu
26th – Rene Mikvy
27th – Emil Krchnavy
28th – Mike Ceuppens

Photo courtesy of Matthias Wolfstein

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles