Hamberg Victorious, Cerveny’s Fourth IRRC Supersport Crown

Hamberg Victorious, Cerveny’s Fourth IRRC Supersport Crown

Favourable weather, above average conditions remained for the IRRC Supersport Championship decider at Germany’s most acclaimed, active real roads circuit, Frohburger Dreieck.

Champion elect Marek Cerveny astride his trusty, WRP Wepol Racing Parts supported 765 Triumph, got the hole shot ahead of pole sitter, prime title rival, Jorn Hamberg.

Across the opening laps, a shade under 0.8 of a second covered the Czech, Dutch racers.

By lap four, just 0.149 covered Cerveny and Hamberg.

Cerveny remained in the race lead till lap seven when Hamberg, fresh from an impressive run to fifth in the Superbike race opener, captured P1.

From here the Performance Racing Achterhoek rider pulled away, going onto wrap up race spoils, his seventh race win of this year’s IRRC season by nigh-on 4.9 seconds.

Race runner-up Cerveny, settled for twenty Championship points enough to gain him an unprecedented fourth IRRC Supersport title.

Outside the top title challengers of 2023, the race for third was won by guest rider, IRRC Superbike Champion Lukas Maurer.

Ilja Caljouw obtained fourth, Sebastian Frotscher secured fifth with Petr Najman capturing sixth.

Positions seventh-tenth went to Mauro Poncini, Wolfgang Schuster, Romain Cleaz Savoyen and Finland’s Anssi Koski whilst top UK/Isle of Man racer in eleventh place was NCE Racing’s Jamie Williams.

IRRC Frohburg – Supersport Race 2 Result:

1st – Jorn Hamberg
2nd – Marek Cerveny
3rd – Lukas Maurer
4th – Ilja Caljouw
5th – Sebastian Frotscher
6th – Petr Najman
7th – Mauro Poncini
8th – Wolfgang Schuster
9th – Romain Cleaz-Savoyen
10th – Anssi Koski

11th – Jamie Williams
12th – Rico Vetter
13th – Gary Johnson
14th – Forest Dunn
15th – Tobias Hinze
16th – Wayne Bourgeais
17th – Andreas Jochum
18th – Tobias Grunzinger
19th – Lukas Vaclavovic
20th – Rhys Hardisty

21st – Yannik Jacops
22nd – Dirk Walter
23rd – Peter Lionel
24th – Jakub Sprojcar
25th – Brian Fuidge
26th – Nicolas Therouin
27th – Jimmy Wauters
28th – Patrick Glauser
29th – Israel Gillette

Photo credit: Thijs Van Der Horst

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles