Czech Racing’s Distinct Gem – Stare Mesto ‘Old Town’ Road Races

Czech Racing’s Distinct Gem – Stare Mesto ‘Old Town’ Road Races

First established in the early 1950’s, the Stare Mesto Road Races, the ‘Old Town’ meeting is undeniably one of the top Czech Republic based motorsport gems.

Absent from the real roads calendar in recent times, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the event made a popular return last weekend, attracting a strong entry across all classes, two-stroke, yesteryear machinery, four-stoke.

Germany’s Chris Meyer who tackled the season opening Irish road races at Cookstown and Tandragee emerged victorious within the 125 GP race whilst the main Supersport race featured a host of Czech road racing giants.

Post ten laps around the fast, flowing 4.2 miles long Stare Mesto course, race success went the way of third place finisher from last season’s IRRC Supersport Championship Petr Najman.

Najman finished nigh-on 6.7 seconds ahead of WRP/AAB Racing’s Marek Cerveny, who made an impressive return this month to the IRRC Supersport scene at Hengelo.

Tomas Toth took third, David Hanzalik was fourth whilst fifth place went to prospective TT 2022 entrant, Super Twins class victor Miroslav Sloboda.

Sloboda a participant at the most recent TT Races in 2019, ensures Slovakia again has representation at the world’s most acclaimed, famous pure road race.

Top six finishers across all classes at Stare Mesto, read as follows:

125/Moto 3:

1st – Chris Meyer
2nd – Patrik Kolar
3rd – Lorenzo Tiveron
4th – Oldrich Podlipny
5th – Radim Daniel
6th – Tomas Karafiat

Open 250:

1st – Tomas Fichna
2nd – Petr Mikl
3rd – Pavel Matus
4th – Zdenka Kucerova

Classics A:

1st – Josef Jurik
2nd – Ludek Malek
3rd – Tomas Vencl
4th – Vladimir Jilek
5th – Pavel Cihlar
6th – Petr Supik

Classics B:

1st – Jaromir Tazler
2nd – Chris Meyer
3rd – Karel Kalina
4th – Milan Soban
5th – David Frencl
6th – Jindrich Stepanek

Classic Superbike:

1st – Boris Korcak
2nd – Petr Kunz
3rd – Miroslav Medek
4th – Michal Slezar
5th – Karel Matus
6th – Michal Dlabola


1st – Libor Kamenicky
2nd – Frantisek Loucka
3rd – Marek Nemecek
4th – Ladislav Vojtko
5th – Vaclav Jakl
6th – Petr Kovar

Supersport 400:

1st – Ludovit Krusina
2nd – Petr Kunz
3rd – Patrik Horak
4th – Boris Korcak
5th – Daniel Chovanec
6th – Martin Baca


1st – Richard Bily/Milan Kostiuk
2nd – Petr Verbik/Stanislav Paryzek
3rd – Karel Dlabola/Sylvie Troubilova
4th – Jiri Balek/Marek Rozehnal
5th – Robert Tyle/Petr Cermak
6th – Petr Chmelar/TBC

Sport Production 125:

1st – Ivo Dolezal
2nd – Pavel Fojtik
3rd – Marek Zima
4th – Petr Cadek
5th – Josef Svoboda
6th – Jiri Bursa


1st – Tomas Toth
2nd – Karel Pesek
3rd – David Hanzalik
4th – Petr Plichta
5th – Jiri Petrla
6th – Martin Hajek


1st – Petr Najman
2nd – Marek Cerveny
3rd – Tomas Toth
4th – David Hanzalik
5th – Miroslav Sloboda
6th – Martin Hulin

Super Twins:

1st – Miroslav Sloboda
2nd – Daniel Chovanec
3rd – Jan Markalous
4th – Matous Ondrusz
5th – Jan Nehasil
6th – Vojtech Hanousek

Photo credit: Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles