Classic TT: Dunlop, Johnson Head Saturday Afternoon’s Superbike Classic Practice Stint

Classic TT: Dunlop, Johnson Head Saturday Afternoon’s Superbike Classic Practice Stint

In pretty much perfect conditions, Superbike Classic TT pace rocketed up a level or two on Saturday afternoon, as Team Classic Suzuki’s Michael Dunlop and David Johnson set the first 125 mph plus lap speeds, at this year’s Isle of Man Festival of Motorcycling.

The battle between Dunlop and Johnson to top the yesterday’s Superbike Classic times sheet, was won by 19 times TT winner Dunlop, who despite still feeling the affects from injuries sustained from an incident at July’s Southern 100, showcased again his unquestioned Mountain Course prowess, recording a blistering ‘Flying Lap’ lap speed of 125.75 mph.

Photo by Mark Corlett

Prior to Dunlop’s chart topping lap speed, it was Team ACR Kawasaki’s Johnson who had jumped to the top of the times sheet, lapping at just over the 125 mph lap mark, lapping at 125.04 mph.

Just over six seconds covered class pace setters Dunlop and Johnson, whilst just under three seconds covered Saturday’s third, fourth quickest yesteryear Superbike exponents, Greenall Racing’s Horst Saiger (122.39 mph) and Market Rasen’s Phil Crowe (122.06 mph).

Rounding out yesterday’s ten quickest Superbike Classic competitors were new Greenall Racing signing Rob Hodson (120.90 mph), PreZ Racing/Kraus Racing’s Jamie Coward (120.82 mph), Team York Suzuki mounted Gary Johnson (120.70 mph).

Two time Junior Manx GP winner Michael Sweeney (120.20 mph), Wilcock Consulting Racing’s Joe Thompson (118.94 mph) and road racing returnee Craig Neve (118.46 mph).

Saturday Superbike Classic TT practice result in full, is as follows:

1 Michael Dunlop 125.75
2 David Johnson 125.04
3 Horst Saiger 122.39
4 Phil Crowe 122.06
5 Rob Hodson 120.90
6 Jamie Coward 120.82
7 Gary Johnson 120.70
8 Michael Sweeney 120.20
9 Joe Thompson 118.94
10 Craig Neve 118.46
11 Michael Rutter 118.12
12 Forest Dunn 117.50
13 Josh Daley 116.98
14 Michal Dokoupil 116.93
15 Richard Wilson 116.67
16 Sam West 115.27
17 Adrian Harrison 115.26
18 Brian McCormack 115.16
19 Darren Cooper 115.15
20 Paul Williams 114.81
21 Michael Booth 114.12
22 Danny Webb 113.50
23 Dave Hewson 113.33
24 Rhys Hardisty 112.69
25 Mark Parrett 112.15
26 Dave Moffitt 112.02
27 Rob Barber 112.01
28 Lancelot Unissart 108.52
29 Richard Vuillermet 104.79
30 Steve Moody 103.82

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles