Barry Sheene Classic – Day 2 Re-Cap Part 2

Barry Sheene Classic – Day 2 Re-Cap Part 2

Super Twins Race 2:

In mixed conditions, the second Super Twins encounter ran over just three laps yielded yet another victory at Scarborough for Ian Lougher.

The most successful racer in Oliver’s Mount, history piloting his own teams Mark Coverdale supported S1-R Paton, just kept at bay Cowton Racing’s Dominic Herbertson to scoop race spoils by just over two tenths of a second.

Runaway Twins race 1 victor Jamie Coward had to settle for third whilst positions 4th, 5th and 6th were claimed by VRS Racing’s Brad Vicars, Mark Purslow and Dan Ingham.

Supersport C Race 2:

After multiple lead changes, drama a plenty, Tim Walsh made it back to back Supersport C race victories.
When early race leader Colin Read retired on lap three, this left Walsh and Aaron Mellish to battle it out for honours.

There was nothing in it throughout but the sixth and final lap saw Walsh find that something extra to ultimately take the race spoils by over 1.4 seconds.

Paul Drinkwater acquired third, Brian Fuidge recorded a very respectable fourth place finish as Solo Non Qualifiers race winner, MV Agusta mounted David Murphy, Mark Jackson rounded out the top six.

Classic A, B, GP 350 Race 2:

James Hind and the Dennis Trollope Racing TZ250 Yamaha were uncatchable again within the second combined Classic A, B, GP 350 race.

The five-lap sprint saw next gen roads talent Hind take the spoils by plus 15 seconds, as Welsh roads favourite Rhys Hardisty took second.

Lead Classic class A runner Peter Boast claimed third, Chris Moore continued his productive maiden Oliver’s Mount tenure with a fourth-place finish as Falcon Road Racing’s Andrew Jackson, Tony Flinton clinched top six leader board positions.

GP 350 class honours went to Dave Grigson, the ninth and final race finisher.

Supersport B Race 2:

County Durham’s Aran Sadler took the honours in an intriguing second six lap Supersport B race.

AS Electricals/Simmi Performance supported Sadler was coming under major pressure from Danny Tomlinson Racing’s Dan Harrison, prior to the Driffield racer been provided a three-place penalty due to gaining a judged advantage through the Farm Bends section.

Despite the three penalty, Harrison still went onto take fourth place behind Rad Hughes and Russell Brook whilst another to gain a Farm Bends themed penalty was previous class winner Toby Shann, who went onto finish seventh.

145 plate holder Daniel Forbes placed fifth whilst sixth position was secured by the Isle of Wight’s Ryan Whitehall.

Bennetts Classic Superbike Race 2:

Imperious, other worldly were terms to describe Dean Harrison’s performance in the second Bennetts Classic Superbike race.

Now an 85 times Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough winner, his latest success at England’s only closed roads venue saw him along the way go under the sub 1 minute 50 seconds barrier.

Victorious by 23.32 seconds, it’s fair to say his first race outing with Greenall Racing is proving a resounding success.

Outside of Harrison’s exploits, Dave Bell enjoyed another second place finish whilst John Dieterman banked an excellent third place finish.

Positions 4th to 6th were claimed respectively by Dan Ingham, Tom Weeden and Sam Johnson.

Classic 500/750 Race 2:

Peter Boast secured in dominant fashion a second successive Classic 500/750 combined race crown, taking the race spoils by over 9.5 seconds.

Leading the challenge to the flat track racing maestro was esteemed Classics racer Alan Oversby.

Concluding the top three finishers behind two times Classic TT podium finisher Oversby was top 750 runner Harley Rushton.

Mark Purslow finished a good fourth, Bill Swallow placed fifth, David Tetley finished sixth whilst notable race non-starters included Jamie Coward and Guy Martin.

Supersport A Race 2:

Lee Johnston was declared winner of the second feature Supersport race, after red flags descended upon the Mount on lap five.

Prior to red flags entering the horizon, Johnston had moved over three seconds clear of the chasing pack led by Cowton Racing’s Dominic Herbertson.

DC Racing’s Mike Norbury who set the fastest lap from the race (1.50.268), took third on the results sheet behind Herbertson as positions 4th through to 6th went to Joe Akroyd, Tom Weeden and Brad Vicars.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles