Road Racing News

Armoy: ‘The Magnificent Seven’ Michael Dunlop’s Seventh Race Of Legends Title

In a league of his own around Armoy, Michael Dunlop secured the blue riband Race of Legends crown for the seventh year in succession.

Victorious by almost 13 seconds, race victory also makes it six Superbike roads wins in 2017, aboard the Bennetts Suzuki.

At the start of the year, there was those who said Michael would encounter the same problems, that afflicted his time with Milwaukee Yamaha, in making an unknown package into a proven winner.

Proving many wrong again, he’s proven yet again today, why he is regarded by various high profile roads figures, as the world’s number 1 pure road racer.

Photo by Rod Neill

Brother, William Dunlop ended his latest Armoy campaign in style, finishing second on the Temple Golf Club Limited backed YZF R1M Yamaha.

Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney in third place, produced without a doubt one of the performances of the race, along the way lapping close to under the 1 minute 46 second mark.

Super Twins race winner Derek McGee lead the Supersport challenge in fourth, James Cowton was a solid fifth as Team ILR’s Joe Thompson sixth edged out Davey Todd to take the leading newcomers laurels.

Concluding the top ten finishers within the Roadside KIA Race of Legends, where Paul Jordan, Davy Morgan and Doncaster’s Mark Goodings.

Armoy: Roadside KIA Race of Legends Results:

1 Michael Dunlop
2 William Dunlop
3 Michael Sweeney
4 Derek McGee
5 James Cowton
6 Joe Thompson
7 Davey Todd
8 Paul Jordan
9 Davy Morgan
10 Mark Goodings
11 Dominic Herbertson
12 Graham Kennedy
13 Brad Vicars
14 Forest Dunn
15 Callum Laidlaw

Words by Stevie Rial