Road Racing News

Armoy: Dunlop/Bennetts Suzuki Battle To TorqueTronix Superbike Success

Michael Dunlop battled his way to TorqueTronix Superbike victory, overcoming the determined challenge of Derek McGee to wrap up a fifth big bike roads success of 2017.

Originally headed on the opening laps by Supersport 600 mounted McGee, the 15 times TT winner as in the Supersport race, steadily upped the ante aboard his Senior TT winning Bennetts Suzuki.

Photo by Paul Hawkins

Emerging victorious by close to the 4.7 second mark, he added another significant chapter to the new GSX-R 1000 Suzuki’s roads resume.

Starting from the second wave Longshot Racing’s Davey Todd on aggregate timing, edged out both William Dunlop and Paul Jordan to seal a quite brilliant third place finish.

Notably alongside Derek McGee, this made it two 600 mounted racers on the rostrum, showcasing how more suitable the 600’s are compared to the high spec 1000cc machines in wet, damp conditions on roads circuits like Armoy.

Completing the top ten finishers was McAdoo Racing’s James Cowton, event debutant’s Team ILR’s Joe Thompson, Mark Goodings and Dominic Herbertson plus Cornwall’s Forest Dunn.

Armoy: TorqueTronix Superbike Race Results:

1 Michael Dunlop
2 Derek McGee
3 Davey Todd
4 William Dunlop
5 Paul Jordan
6 James Cowton
7 Joe Thompson
8 Mark Goodings
9 Dominic Herbertson
10 Forest Dunn
11 Kris Duncan
12 Paul Cranston
13 Sam Johnson

Words by Stevie Rial