Armoy: Race Day Wrap Up

Armoy: Race Day Wrap Up
J W Hickinson/James McKillop Junior Support:

Damp, mixed conditions were to greet competitors participating in the joint J W Hickinson/James McKillop supported Junior Support race.

Prior to red flags arising on lap five, the prime contenders for honours were Eoin O’Siochru and pole sitter, the Isle of Wight’s Ryan Whitehall.

Just 0.075 separated the pair at the completion of lap 1 but by lap three O’Siochru had upped his advantage to a shade over 0.630 of a second.

Whitehall’s challenge then concluded on lap five, slipping off at Joeys causing the race to be red flagged.

With more than fifty percent race distance covered Faraldo Racing supported O’Siochru was declared race winner ahead of Kevin Baker with Michael Gillan placing third.

Wrapping up the first ten finishers were Mike Mace, Tim Walsh, Ben Mullane, Lightweight 250 front runner Gareth Arnold, Dave Walsh, Steve Ferguson and Andy Whale.

Stanley Stewart Racing 125/Moto 3/Supersport 300 Race:

Dominant during yesterday’s qualifying sessions, Michael Browne claimed in commanding fashion 125/Moto 3 race honours.

0.859 ahead of early race leader Melissa Kennedy at the end of lap 1, by lap three Joeys Bar MCC Racing’s Browne held an advantage of closing in on four seconds.

From here he never looked back, going onto take race spoils by almost 22 seconds.

Lead chaser Kennedy took second, Junior Support victor Eoin O’Siochru edged Nigel Moore for third whilst Supersport 300 class success upped Barry Davidson’s total of Irish Road Race victories to 87.

‘300’ runner-up RJ Woolsey, finished just 0.023 of a second behind Davidson, setting on route a new class lap record of 79.073 mph.

Torra Homes Open B Race:

Team Dynamic Racing’s Sam Johnson became the third first time ‘Race of Legends’ winner, following success in the Torra Homes Open B race.

Nigh on five seconds clear of the chasing pack as lap four beckoned, his eventual race winning margin stood at 6.686 seconds over lead pursuer, Stephen Tobin.

MD Racing backed Tommy Henry placed third as Stephen McKnight, Andy McAllister, Dennis Booth respectively finished fourth, fifth, sixth.

Finalising the top ten finishers were Alan Johnston, Armoy debutant Barry Furber, the evergreen Paul Cranston and Darryl Anderson.

McAlonan Oils Junior 250/350 Classics:

The restarted McAlonan Oils Junior 250/350 Classics proved tumultuous for podcast star, regular CRMC (Classic Racing Motorcycle Club) front runner Dominic Herbertson.

2018 Junior Classic TT winner Herbertson in confident fashion powered to 350 Classics, overall race honours, enjoying a race winning advantage of 18 plus seconds over Barry Davidson.

Scotsman Leon Murphy placed third whilst 250 Classics honours went the way of Brian Mateer, with respective second, third place class finishes going to fellow Yesteryear racing stalwarts Philip Shaw and Nigel Moore.

Park Electrical/Brap Moto Senior Support Race:

Eoin O’Siochru doubled his Armoy wins tally after triumphing in a compelling Park Electrical/Brap Moto Senior Support race.

Led throughout by impressive pure road racing newcomer Jack Oliver, the seventh, final lap saw O’Siochru find that something extra needed to grab race honours.

At the line 1.156 seconds covered O’Siochru and Oliver with third place finisher Keelim Ryan a further ten plus seconds in arrears.

Positions fourth-sixth were gained by Kevin Barsby, Liam Trainor, Mike Mace whilst the remainder of the top 10 was occupied by Jordan McFerran, Mike Swanson, Tim Walsh and Tommy Heaphy.

ABO Wind Super Twins A Race:

Derek McGee took his fifth Armoy Road Races victory, after a fine performance within the feature ABO Wind supported Super Twins race.

Competing this weekend in the KMR Kawasaki colours, McGee surpassed Ryan Farquhar’s six-year old lap record on route to race honours.

McGee’s new record Twins lap time at Armoy, stands at 1 minute 49.585 seconds.

The 2019 Lightweight TT podium finisher’s sheer pace as illustrated above alongside consistency, fierce determination during the seven-lap contest enabled him to have a race winning advantage of almost 7.7 seconds.

Team ILR with Mark Coverdale’s S1-R Paton mounted Joe Loughlin edged out long term second place holder Adam McLean for second.

Dominic Herbertson took fourth whilst Ben Rea, Andy Farrell enjoyed productive race stints, placing respectively fifth, sixth.

Tilesplus Senior 500/1000 Classics:

Ian Lougher has accomplished most things in pure road racing but not a race win at the Armoy Road Races.

This all changed yesterday afternoon as the Welsh roads legend piloting a priceless MV Agusta steed, claimed overall, Senior 1000 Classics victory.

1.83 seconds behind Guy Martin at the end of lap four by lap six Lougher had reeled in the multi times world record breaker who’s BSA steed appeared to have technical problems.

From here the ten times TT winner kept his cool, maintained solid, accomplished pace on route to finishing 1.4 seconds in front of Martin.

Richard Ford took third with first Senior 500 racer home been yesteryear racing great Barry Davidson.

MJF Construction Super Twins B Race:

An intriguing MJF Construction Super Twins B race culminated with success for former Junior/Senior Manx GP No.1 plate holder, Anthony Redmond.

Once early pace setter Seamus Elliott dropped out of contention on lap four, this enabled Redmond to take charge with KMR Kawasaki’s Matt Rees on aggregate timing providing the stiffest opposition.

Although there wasn’t much in it lap times wise, Redmond’s consistency would prove more than enough for him to become the latest first time Armoy race winner.

Taking third behind Redmond, Rees was Michael Gillan whilst others to secure top ten finishing positions were Mike Mace, Gareth Arnold, Brian Loughlin, Nigel Rea, new Supermono lap record holder Dave Walsh, Ben Mullane and the RAF’s Rad Hughes.

Photo credit: Rod Neill, Tommy Vennard

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles