Road Racing News

Aberdare Park: Cooper On Course For Fourth Welsh Open Crown

Dan Cooper is on course for a fourth Welsh Open crown, having yesterday won a compelling first leg of the feature races at Aberdare Park.

Competing on his own teams Space Centre Self Storage backed CBR 600RR Honda, he maintained his “park” supremacy holding off a tenacious challenge from Ryan Dixon.

Photo by Steve Snelling

He carries into today’s all important second leg of the Welsh Open races, a 5.52 second aggregate lead, whilst third place finisher from Saturday afternoon, Matt Rees also has an outside chance of sealing overall honours.

Finalising the top ten finishers yesterday in South Wales where Jay Bellers Smith aboard the Smith Bros KTM, Justin Collins, James Evans, Max Dillon, Dave Saxby, John Price and Dan Ingham.

The sole remaining finisher within the 12 lap race was South Africa’s Phil Atkinson.

Aberdare Park: Welsh Open Race 1 Results:

1 Dan Cooper
2 Ryan Dixon
3 Matt Rees
4 Jay Bellers Smith
5 Justin Collins
6 James Evans
7 Max Dillon
8 Dave Saxby
9 John Price
10 Dan Ingham
11 Phil Atkinson

Words by Stevie Rial