69th Scarborough Gold Cup: Harrison, Coward Serve Up Super Twins Specials

69th Scarborough Gold Cup: Harrison, Coward Serve Up Super Twins Specials

Fellow Yorkshireman Dean Harrison and Jamie Coward, served up thrilling battles today for Super Twin victories at a windy, sun drenched Oliver’s Mount.

650 Twins Race 3 which opened today’s race proceedings would see Harrison, Coward never more than 0.3 of a second apart before current TT Privateers Champion Coward departed his KTS Racing steed at Memorial on lap four.

This allowed Harrison and the Dafabet Devitt Racing Z650 Kawasaki to ease away out front, securing race honours come the completion of the sixth and final lap by 2.8 seconds over Lightweight Manx GP lap record holder Jim Hind.

Dominic Herbertson who took a tumble in morning warm up at Mountside, took third ahead of Scarborough racing legend Ian Lougher.

The fourth and final Twins race of the 69th Gold Cup meeting, lived up to expectations with another high quality duel between Harrison and Coward.

Hebden Bridge’s Coward at the end of lap 1 held a 1.59 seconds advantage which was reduced by lap four to just 0.143 by 2019 Senior TT winner Harrison.

Lap five saw Harrison hit the front for the first time, moving 0.436 clear. Coward though determined to prove he’s still the one to beat on 650cc machinery at Scarborough, wasn’t to be discounted.

The sixth and final lap as in the prior showpiece Steve Henshaw Gold Cup saw records tumble with race winner Harrison, Coward just 0.32 down in arrears both bettering and some the existing Super Twins lap record.

It’s race runner-up Coward who now holds the honour of been the fastest Twins racer at Scarborough, courtesy of a stellar 1 minute 49.468 seconds blast around England’s only closed roads course.

Positions third, fourth, fifth and sixth behind record breakers Harrison and Coward were over 140 times Oliver’s Mount victor Ian Lougher, 2018 Junior Classic TT winner Dominic Herbertson, Rob Hodson and 2018 Newcomers B Manx GP victor Michael Rees.

Super Twins race results are as follows:

Twins Race 1:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Jim Hind
3 Dominic Herbertson
4 Ian Lougher
5 Rob Hodson
6 Michael Rees
7 Alun Brooks
8 Brad Vicars
9 Barry Furber
10 Jack Fowler
11 Dave Hewson
12 Roddy Taylor
13 Ryan Redman
14 Julian Tillotson
15 Gary Graves
16 Geoffrey Lunn
17 Oliver Dean
18 Brian Fuidge
19 Andrew Castle
20 Andrew Hoare

Twins Race 2:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Jamie Coward
3 Ian Lougher
4 Dominic Herbertson
5 Rob Hodson
6 Michael Rees
7 Brad Vicars
8 Alun Brooks
9 Jack Fowler
10 Barry Furber
11 Roddy Taylor
12 Geoffrey Lunn
13 Gary Graves
14 Brian Fuidge
15 Adrian Skaife
16 Oliver Dean
17 Andrew Castle

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles