50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – Martin Jessopp Wraps Up Pole Position

50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – Martin Jessopp Wraps Up Pole Position

Martin Jessopp edged out Michael Rutter, for pole position for the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix, following a high quality battle for the top spot in qualifying.

Martin’s lap time of 2 minutes 24.654 seconds on the Riders Motorcycles S1000RR BMW, was just 0.139 in front of his illustrious counterparts lap time, set during the opening qualifying session.

Third practice session During

Photo by Charles Robertson

Completing the front row, for tomorrows 12 lap race, is Glenn Irwin who it’s fair to say stunned everyone by finishing third quickest, on the Be Wiser Ducati.

Gary Johnson (2.25.843) battled his to fourth in qualifying, he was followed by Stuart Easton (2.26.044) who showed rapidly improved pace, same as Bathams SMT Racing team mate and reigning Macau GP champion, Peter Hickman (2.26.183).

Third practice session During

Photo by Charles Robertson

Horst Saiger sixth fastest, lead the Kawasaki challenge, following an impressive lap time of 2 minutes 26.160 seconds.

Honda Racing’s John McGuinness and Conor Cummins, finished eighth and ninth quickest, as Ian Hutchinson rounded out the top ten, following by his standards a below par qualifying session.

Dan Kneen (2.27.606) was happy with his pace on the Mar Train Racing YZF R1M Yamaha, whilst Derek Sheils 13th fastest continues to impress on the Cookstown BE Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki.

Added notable lap times included Brian McCormack (2.30.227), Danny Webb (2.30.795) gradually more and more with the streets of Macau, plus Mark Miller (2.32.132) taking the Splitlath Buell to a very respectable 21st in what was a quite thrilling Macau GP qualifying session.

50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – Second Qualifying Results:

1 Martin Jessopp 2.24.654
2 Michael Rutter 2.24.887
3 Glenn Irwin 2.25.065
4 Gary Johnson 2.25.843
5 Stuart Easton 2.26.044
6 Horst Saiger 2.26.160
7 Peter Hickman 2.26.183
8 John McGuinness 2.26.358
9 Conor Cummins 2.26.582
10 Ian Hutchinson 2.26.699
11 Dan Kneen 2.27.606
12 Didier Grams 2.28.015
13 Derek Sheils 2.28.070
14 Dan Cooper 2.28.485
15 Steve Mercer 2.28.504
16 Steve Heneghan 2.30.115
17 Brian McCormack 2.30.227
18 Danny Webb 2.30.795
19 Ivan Lintin 2.31.033
20 AJ Venter 2.32.103
21 Mark Miller 2.32.132
22 Dan Hegarty 2.32.569
23 Sam West 2.32.616
24 Marek Cerveny 2.32.749
25 Michael Sweeney 2.33.521
26 Andre Pires 2.35.277
27 Ben Wylie 2.35.448
28 Davy Morgan 2.35.803

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *