2023 Manx GP Preview – Part 4 – Senior Race

2023 Manx GP Preview – Part 4 – Senior Race
As with all classes at this year’s, 100th Anniversary Manx Grand Prix, the Supersport machinery focused Senior race features a mix of rising talents, established front running forces, event stalwarts and overseas heroes.

Runner-up last year, No.1 plate holder Dan Ingham, is an unquestioned contender for feature race spoils. Piloting again, Russell Brook’s Brook Built YZF R6 Yamaha, the ‘Tommy Club’ member is quietly confident of another prodigious race week tenure.

Others in prime contention for standout results include fellow ‘Tommy Club’ inductees, Team ILR with Frog Vehicle Developments Victor Lopez Santos, fitness permitting David McConnachy, new Team ACR (Alasdair Cowan Racing) signing Chris Cook.

Tom Robinson, MGP returnee Sam Johnson, Andrew Fisher and Newcomers A race runner-up of 2019, Sam Mousley. Leading local challengers include third place finisher in 2022, NCE Racing’s Jamie Williams and Junior race No.1 plate carrier Marc Colvin.

Both riders will have support in abundance as will fellow countrymen, newcomers Marcus Simpson and Joe Yeardsley.

Added Mountain Course newbies with growing roads scene reputations, looking to enjoy tumultuous event debuts include the Isle of Wight’s Ryan Whitehall, Stephen Tobin, Anthony O’Carroll and Dermot Cleary.

There’s also a strong overseas contingent which includes the aforementioned Victor Lopez Santos, Lancelot Unissart (France), Maurizio Bottalico (Italy), Erik Kjuus (Norway), Adam Bauer (USA), Victor Ortega Perez (Spain), French newcomers Eddy Ferre, Kevin Rigot, Julien Cregniot, Cyril Lecocq.

Experienced, seasoned roads forces also entered include Damian Horan, PCN Racing’s James Reveley, Jack Fowler, Rad Hughes (RAF Motorsports), Shaun Evans.

Gaz Evans, 2018 Newcomers B race victor Michael Rees, Dennis Booth, Tom Snow (Mark Parrett Racing), Cowton Racing backed Paul Marley.

Liam Chawke, Michael Gillan, Barry Sheene Classic front runner Don Gilbert, Justin Collins, Mike Mace and sole MV Agusta pilot, Louis O’Regan.

Since the Manx Grand Prix first started in 1930, a who’s who of road racing has won the coveted Senior race title.

At a glance just some of the famous names to have won the blue riband MGP race include Ryan Farquhar, John Simpson, Stephen Smith, Geoff Duke, Malachi Mitchell Thomas, Tom Weeden, Nathan Harrison and the much-missed Davy Morgan.

In recent times the lap speeds within the traditionally four lap long race, have sky rocketed with various 120,121,122 mph laps a plenty recorded plus overall pace that would have contended for top 15, top 18 finishes within the Supersport encounters at the TT Races.

As long as conditions are spot on, adequate and the competitors are in the right frame of mind, expect more great lap speeds, soaring pace at this years’ Manx GP.

Photo credit: Nick Wheeler, Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles