Record Breaking Evans Seals Junior Manx GP Crown

Record Breaking Evans Seals Junior Manx GP Crown

Martin Bullock Manxsport’s Michael Evans sealed Mylchreests Group Junior honours in record breaking style, setting from a standing start a new class lap record of 120.619 mph, on his way to a second Manx GP victory.

22 seconds clear of Preston’s Darren Cooper, the Manxman backed up his impressive form during practice week with a terrific display in the re started three lap race, with the original start at 10:15 AM red flagged following an incident at Union Mills involving Royce Rowe.

Photo by Mark Corlett

Reflecting afterwards, the Douglas based rider stated when asked to describe his race win, in just one sentence said:

“Awesome, Unbelievable!”

Second placed Cooper, race leader on lap 2, was equally as delighted as the race winner, not only recording a new personal best result but also joining the ‘Tommy Club’, lapping from a standing start at 120.018 mph.

The final spot on the rostrum was secured by Jamie Williams, following a fine performance on his own teams Ocean Ford backed Honda.

PRF Racing’s Barry Evans, Dean Osborne and Joe Faragher fourth, fifth and sixth all lapped near the 120 mph mark, whilst Glenn Harrison in seventh place became the third rider in the race to join the ‘Tommy Club’ with a sparkling final lap of 120.129 mph.

Photo by Jim Gibson

David “The Hammer” Lumsden was a very creditable eighth as Newcomers A race winner Brad Vicars in ninth, ended his maiden Manx GP campaign in style, lapping on lap three at 119.466 mph.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Rounding out the top ten finishers was Scarborough’s Nick Anderson, whilst added standout performances came from the likes of Stephen Smith 11th, Rhys Hardisty 12th, Shirlaws Motorcycles backed Marc Ironside 16th and The Peoples Bike Team’s ‘Rising Star’ protege Stephen Parsons 17th.

Mylchreests Group Junior Manx Grand Prix Results:

1 Michael Evans
2 Darren Cooper
3 Jamie Williams
4 Barry Evans
5 Dean Osborne
6 Joe Faragher
7 Glenn Harrison
8 David Lumsden
9 Brad Vicars
10 Nick Anderson
11 Stephen Smith
12 Rhys Hardisty
13 James Chawke
14 Gareth Evans
15 Allan Brodie
16 Marc Ironside
17 Stephen Parsons
18 Steven Procter
19 Wayne Humble
20 Richard Charlton
21 Francesco Curinga
22 Adrian Hartog
23 Stuart Hall
24 Rob Whittall
25 Peter Wilkinson
26 Dennis Booth
27 Paul Williams
28 Matt Stevenson
29 Matt Mylchreest
30 Miroslav Sloboda
31 Gary Vines
32 Gaz Evans
33 Kris Duncan
34 Michael Hand
35 Richard Stubbs
36 Marc Colvin
37 Steven Horne
38 Erik Kjuus
39 Rad Hughes
40 Callum Ward
41 Frederic Besnard
42 Andy Lovett
43 Andy Farrell
44 Shaun Evans
45 Jason Brewster
46 Rodger Wibberley
47 Andy Hayes
48 Jason Heritage
49 Stephen Casey
50 Leon Murphy
51 Nicolas Pautet
52 Teddy Bresson
53 Justin Collins
54 David Combrinck
55 Paul Van Der Heiden
56 Andreas Psychogyios
57 Sebastian Witt
58 Robert Nelson
59 Richard Duncan
60 Sarah Boyes
61 Steven Beale
62 Christian Slater
63 Richard Vuillermet
64 Noel Carroll
65 Dan Beighton
66 Hubert Kalthuber

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles