Vauxhall International North West 200 – Qualifying Wrap Up

Vauxhall International North West 200 – Qualifying Wrap Up

Super Twins:

Reigning TT privateers champion Dan Cooper set the pace in super twins qualifying around the Triangle, following lap speed of 108.114 mph, as he showcased his race winning credentials on his own teams CMS/SB Tuning backed ER6 Kawasaki.

Second quickest Ryan Farquhar was 1.533 seconds behind Dan, 2015 lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin third fastest, is happy with the performance of the Devitt RC Express Racing ER6 Kawasaki.

Peter Hickman, Cookstown BE Racing ER6 Kawasaki, fourth quickest, could well be a dark horse for at least a podium finish tonight.

James Hillier propelled the Quattro Plant Muc Off ER6 Kawasaki to fifth fastest time, two time North West 200 winner Jeremy McWilliams, finalised the top six.

Martin Jessopp pace setter during yesterday’s practice session, was seventh quickest, but courtesy of his time from Tuesday practice, qualifies overall fourth, whilst newcomer Danny Webb impressed in finishing eighth in qualifying.

The top ten was completed by Duke Road Race Rankings championship leader Malachi Mitchell Thomas and James Cowton, Cowton Racing by Radcliffe’s ER6 Kawasaki.

Super Twins Qualifying Results:

1 Dan Cooper
2 Ryan Farquhar
3 Ivan Lintin
4 Martin Jessopp
5 Peter Hickman
6 James Hillier
7 Jeremy McWilliams
8 Danny Webb
9 Malachi Mitchell Thomas
10 James Cowton
11 Christian Elkin
12 Paul Jordan
13 Adam McLean
14 Michael Sweeney
15 Darren James
16 Marty Lennon
17 Xavier Denis
18 Maria Costello MBE
19 Kris Duncan
20 Callum Laidlaw


Alastair Seeley unofficially broke the North West 200 superstock lap record lapping at 122.204 mph, on his way to qualifying on pole for the superstock races, on the Lee Hardy Racing S1000RR BMW.

Michael Rutter, Bathams SMT Racing S1000RR BMW, will start from second on the grid, whilst Peter Hickman, JG Speedfit ZX10R Kawasaki, impressed hugely in qualifying third, breaking up the BMW Motorrad domination.

Tyco BMW’s Ian Hutchinson qualified in fourth place, Michael Dunlop finished fifth quickest on his own teams BMW, as Lee Johnston, East Coast Racing S1000RR BMW, concluded the top six.

Dean Harrison has gone quietly under the radar this week at the Giant Causeway based meeting, he finished seventh fastest, one of only seven riders to lap in excess of 120 mph.

James Hillier was next up in eighth, to make it three ZX10R Kawasaki’s in the top eight.

William Dunlop, MSS Colchester Kawasaki, ninth fastest, cannot be discounted from battling for a podium finish tonight, same applies to Gary Johnson, who rounded out the top ten in qualifying.

Superstock Qualifying Results:

1 Alastair Seeley
2 Michael Rutter
3 Peter Hickman
4 Ian Hutchinson
5 Michael Dunlop
6 Lee Johnston
7 Dean Harrison
8 James Hillier
9 William Dunlop
10 Gary Johnson
11 Martin Jessopp
12 Horst Saiger
13 Jeremy McWilliams
14 Bruce Anstey
15 Ivan Lintin
16 Sam West
17 Ryan Farquhar
18 Michael Sweeney
19 Didier Grams
20 Malachi Mitchell Thomas


Alastair Seeley continued his dominance of the Triangle, by qualifying fastest in supersport qualifying, by over a second on the Gearlink Kawasaki, following lap speed of 116.97 mph.

Martin Jessopp, Riders Motorcycles 675 Daytona Triumph, was his nearest challenger, Lee Johnston third fastest, performance is made all the more impressive given that he is going through the pain barrier, due to a groin injury.


Photo by Rod Neill

Finishing fourth fastest behind the East Coast Racing rider, is William Dunlop, is encountered along the way reliability problems on his own teams YZF R6 Yamaha.

John McGuinness, Jackson Racing CBR 600 Honda, showed good form in finishing fifth fastest, the top six in qualifying was wrapped up by Peter Hickman, Trooper backed ZX6R Kawasaki.

Fellow ZX6R Kawasaki mounted riders Bathams SMT Racing’s Michael Rutter and Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison finished seventh and eighth quickest.

The top ten was concluded by James Hillier and Jeremy McWilliams, one of many of YZF R6 Yamaha mounted riders encountering reliability problems.

Supersport Qualifying Results:

1 Alastair Seeley
2 Martin Jessopp
3 Lee Johnston
4 William Dunlop
5 John McGuinness
6 Peter Hickman
7 Michael Rutter
8 Dean Harrison
9 James Hillier
10 Jeremy McWilliams
11 Bruce Anstey
12 Paul Jordan
13 Dan Cooper
14 Christian Elkin
15 Malachi Mitchell Thomas
16 Michael Dunlop
17 James Cowton
18 Ivan Lintin
19 Michael Sweeney
20 Marek Cerveny

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *